We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is Key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #7 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Montrose, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Location is Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I wanted to like this hotel more than I did but the positives do outweigh the negatives. Here's the positives:

1. Great location. Only stayed one night for a softball camp at CSUMB but being the heart of it all was great. Left the car in the garage for the night and walked to Cannery Row for dinner. Also did a little walk along the wharf at sunset which was nice.
2. Hotel staff were courteous, knowledgeable and the service was great.
3. Room was well appointed and comfortable.
4. Breakfast buffet (which was included in our deal) was good, plenty of choices in a pleasant setting with good service.

Negatives:
1. Not sure why but you can hear everything in this hotel. Maybe because there are no drapes on the windows (only plantation shutters, so no soft surface to act as a baffle), but the noise travels all around the hotel. We heard every toilet flush, every car on the street, people talking at all hours, and a baby crying in the lobby carried all the way up the corridor. We were on floor five all the way at the end which I thought would be a quieter location, but no.
2. A common complaint from other reviewers, but why no free wi-fi?
3. Although our room was clean and tastefully decorated, it did need some minor maintenance. Peeling paint on the bathroom door, some minor stains that should be taken care of (room 560)

All in all a good hotel in a good location with very good staff. The deal we got with Travelzoo was excellent - $149 including buffet breakfast for two. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    439
    169
    93
    38
See reviews for
367
461
52
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location for walking to the pier & to their onside restaurants (which the food was great!). A great place for kids (or w/o them), there kids pirates program is great for entertaining little ones. Our family will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at the luxury of the hotel. Our room was luxurious, modern and clean. We had the package which included breakfast at Jack's on site. That was unbelievable. Jack's is all wood-paneled, reminding us of a library in an English mansion. The choices for breakfast were amazing. Plus we enjoyed Peter B's at night which was so much fun. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely make plans to visit here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The most comfortable beds and bedding, immaculately clean, nicely decorated and a beautiful private patio made our stay fantastic!! Can't wait to return and will definitely be dining at the hotel's restaurant Jack's again. The risotto was divine!! P.S. Being pet-friendly was an added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. While making my reservation I made a few requests and much to my liking, upon checking in, all my requests were met. We ate dinner at the brewery and had brunch at Jack's, all the servers were fantastic at both places and the food was great. We especially liked the brunch and service we received while dining there. The rooms were newly remodeled and the beds were awesome! The bathroom was also newly remodeled except for the tub but we were able to look past that. Also the bell desk operater was extremely helpful every time we needed to call down to the desk for something. We had a great overall experience at this hotel and it was really nice to be located next to everything Monterey has to offer.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation be sure to ask for a room in the main towers and away from the Promen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The lobby has a relaxing and inviting atmosphere and the warm oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies on arrival are a wonderful touch! Unfortunately, I cant say that the rooms have quite the same appeal. The room did not have airconditioning but came with a ceiling fan that was pretty much useless since it generated no air even on the fastest setting. In addition to it, the fan is at one end of the room rather than in the center and leaving the windows open was out of the question since the room overlooked the promenade which was noisy. My second disappointment was the bathroom that was not upgraded and did not match the room that was recently refurbished. My last but worst experience was on the day we were checking out, the water was turned off while we were in the middle of using the bathroom amenities! That just about ruined the whole experience. We called the front desk who did not know what was going on right away but took a few minutes to enquire and find out that there was some maintenance taking place on a particular block of the hotel! Guests were not given prior notice and this was EXTREMELY inconvenient. We were given the keys to another room down a couple of hallways on the same floor so that we could use the bathroom facilities only to get there and find out there was no water there too! Had to call the front desk again and wait for another room to be identified on a different floor and block that had running water!!!! At this point I was super annoyed....cant say this was the great start to the holiday I'd been looking forward to for months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not over looking the promenade/shopping plaza. Check if the hotel has fini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, nice location close fishermans warf. Easy walk to restruants and shops around. That is why its has a 2 rating and not a 1!

The room that we were in overlooked to the mainstreet. The windows were single glazed and they did nothave curtains, they have shutters. The noise was intolerable, at one point it sounded like the cars, lorries, street cleaners and buses were inside the room with us. There are no words to describe the quality of sleep we got, it was worse than terrible. Also the light came in between the shutters, making slatted lights across the celling.
If you chose to stay here, make sure that you know what you room is overlooking, we had friends stay here overlooking the courtyard and they had a much better experience than us.

We were only here for one night as part of a trafalgar tour and that was one night to many.

Very dissapointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you check what your room is over looking, if you get there and you have a road ask to be...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you decline maid services they will give you $5 to spend in hotel restruants.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.