We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two Package
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Good location and overall standard of accommodation. Bar staff were a let down in terms of attitude and service ethic, but that in itself wasn't enough to bring down the positive experience of rest of our stay

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    416
    151
    92
    38
See reviews for
352
438
49
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two nights here with our family of four. We came with two other families and, after reading other reviews, requested upper-floor interior rooms. The rooms were quiet, and though we didn't have a view of anything exciting, it was worth it. The pirate club for the kids was cute, it included a little bag of pirate items and a treasure hunt to do on the property - fun way to keep the kids entertained during down time. The rooms and hotel were clean and modern and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We ate at the in-house brewpub, Peter B's, which accommodated our large group nicely, service was a bit slow, but the food was good, nice kids menu, nice beer for the adults. The hotel gave us chocolate chip cookies at check-in, another nice touch. The rooms have Keurig machines and include a few different beverage brewing options. There is a mini fridge, too. As others mention, no AC but, monterey is mild enough, we were fine with the ceiling fan. Bed covers were nice white down duvets, very comfy. The pool and hot tub area were packed on a Saturday afternoon, but very nice space, with little tented cabanas, room service and the occasional pesky seagull. We did have to ask the front desk multiple times to fill the towel cabinet by the pool. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms, request upper-floor, interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Portola took great care of us from the moment we walked in to the moment we (reluctantly) checked out. The location is PERFECT: walking distance to everything, left out car in the garage for the entire stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the large patio attached to our king suite, so nice to sit outside on a warm evening and feel the sea air. Staff very friendly and efficient, clean room, comfy bed, and those amazing chocolate chip cookies!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Portola Hotel & Spa does a great job with their hospitality. Instead of simply resting on their prime location as the secret of success, they put forth the effort to make the hotel a chosen destination. The staff is friendly; the rooms are nice and clean; and the details aren't missed. It was an unexpected surprise!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everton, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here two nights as the end of a CA bus tour from San Francisco to Monterrey by way of Napa, Tahoe, and Yosemite- walking distance to many attractions and good restaurants. The hotel restaurant was actually excellent also. But it was fun to browse all the menues and samples on the Pier before deciding where to eat! Rooms were comfortable and restful. Right next to the Pier so we could walk to dinner or to watch the marine life. Pier was an easy walk, Cannery Row a little bit further and the Aquarium was also walking distance but a bit further. (We're in our 60's and 70's.) We've found when touring a city it's best to stay right downtown to see the sights more leisurely and comfortably.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great location and walking distance to major attractions. Disappointing pool for a resort. Staff friendly and clean spacious rooms. Would stay again. The location has the added benefit of being right at the wharf and also downtown Monterey which you can explore by foot

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After researching many of the hotels that were right on the bay, we were glad that we landed at Portola. The price is much more reasonable and the location was perfect. You are within easy walking distance to the Monterey Aquarium (one of the best aquariums we have ever seen, don't miss it!), Cannery Row and the downtown area. If you don't want to walk there's a free trolley service you can take.

Our check-in was quick and easy. Both the valet and front desk were friendly and efficient. During check-in we were able to purchase our aquarium tickets as well which saved us time in the long run. Plus, when we mentioned that it was our 20th anniversary, they sent fresh fruit to our room. Throughout our 2-day stay the valet staff were amazing. The hotel is fortunate to have them.

The room we stayed in was average but adequate. There was a mini fridge and a deck with two chairs. We didn't have a view of anything but we weren't in the room much so it didn't matter. Not much else to say about the room.

For Starbucks lovers, there's a store right across the street. If you want to run, bike or walk, this hotel is just one block from a beautiful path. You'll see seals along the way. I would recommend going to restaurants in the downtown area rather than at the wharf or Cannery Row. The downtown restaurants were less touristy and a better value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portola Hotel & Spa is located on the waterfront Monterey. Just steps away from historic Fisherman’s Wharf and the Monterey Bay, the hotel offers 379 nautically inspired guest rooms and suites, two onsite eateries, a full service day spa and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list