We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've stay here before - and it was wonderful - so we felt hopeful this visit would be the same great experience. Thankfully it was. We booked two rooms and took our adult daughter with us to celebrate her birthday.

The room was very clean - front desk staff were helpful and pleasant. Warm cookies upon arrival are a small thing for a hotel to do but it really has a great impact on travel weary guests :) ( It made up for the valets not asking if we needed help with the bags. )

I told the person in reservations that we were coming as part of our daughter's birthday celebration and when we arrived in her room, she was tickled to see "gifts" form the hotel ~ a bottle of wine, crackers and a fruit and cheese tray!! What a wonderful surprise!

The pool we clean and quiet - the breakfast buffet was incredible (!) - they really made our stay pleasant and pampered.

Room Tip: We requested robes and newspapers for our rooms ~ they did provide the robes but forgot the papers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    466
    183
    101
    41
See reviews for
400
493
56
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The weather was cool during my visit, but the lobby was warm & inviting with its indoor trees & lots of comfortable seating. Upon check-in, I was greeted by friendly staff & the warm cookie was a nice touch. From the bar area, I could hear a wonderful musician playing, the acoustics bouncing throughout the entire lobby. The bar staff were friendly, not at all stuffy. My room was nicely appointed, clean, and the bed very comfortable.

I had some difficulty getting back from my bike ride down to Carmel and wasn't able to make it back to the hotel in time for checkout. One quick call and the lady at the front desk had me sorted for a later checkout, beyond what they would normally consider "late". I am so grateful for the wonderful service I received.

The proximity to the Wharf, and the short walk to Cannery Row make this hotel ideally situated to check out many of the attractions that Monterey has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Havent stayed here for years but got a great deal on travelzoo so we went. From the first moment you arrive pleasantries abound. we had our car parked and front desk staff were on the ball and gave us 2 fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. Our room was small but above average in luxury. We took a walk on the wharf which is steps away and then that night caught our fav comedien at the Golden State theater 2 blocks away. We ate a local restaurant called Risonis which was fantastic and reasonably priced food was fresh service was great. We had buffet breakfast at Jacks in the hotel which was amazing and all the mimosas you can drink. Omelets are custom made and service is top notch. When we checked out and got our car the Valet called us by name and thanked us for coming

Room Tip: ask for left side of hotel the right side overlooks plaza and is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always excited about our trips to Monterey when we are staying at Portola Hotel & Spa, beautiful rooms, awesome staff, our favorite,Tiffany Short, always makes our stay so interesting. Breakfast at Jacks is Perfection, take your time and enjoy, Peter B'S is also a fun and delicious place to eat, both have great food !!! We usally stay at the hotel our entire stay enjoying the beautiful pool, or spa or workout room or taking a walk on the wharf, so refreshing to have everything in walking distance, we come home relaxed and can't wait for our next stay at this Beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Jazz Bash by the Bay held it's festival> 03/ 01 to 03/03/ 2013< at the Portola Hotel & Spa near the Wharf and it was part of the Convention Center where the third floor Stienbeck Hall is located! Great hotel with great food! A gret brew pub that sits around the corner! It is a nice time but be advised during the week food is not serve after 10:00 pm! Cannery Row is a mile away and this provides a nice walk down a shoreline path!

Room Tip: Across from the main hotel near the pool&spa;in the parking structure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent a long weekend and had a very relaxing yet entertaining time. Portola is an amazing establishment. The hotel is very classy and the staff very warm. There is so much to do and see right there! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our stay at the Portola Hotel and Spa was the BEST!!

You can't beat the location of the hotel, everything is walking distance. Our room had a great bay view. The rooms were great, bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

We had a good time hanging out at Peter B's too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.