We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two Package
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights while in Monterey for a company conference. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Room was nice and clean with quality linens and towels, plus the staff responded quickly to a request for foam pillows. I was lucky to get a view of the bay. Unfortunately the hotel is very cold (February), and this is worsened by the exterior hall doorways left open, I believe by hotel staff. Some road noise outside but slept great with heater running. The bed was very comfortable;. Nice hot shower. Food was delicious and fresh. I would stay here again for the great location in the heart of historical Monterey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    416
    151
    92
    38
See reviews for
352
438
49
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Portola Hotel & Spa after finding that every other hotel was already booked full. Check-in was easy, staff friendly and the cookies were a nice touch.
Room was average; the photos online make the rooms look better than reality.
Bathroom needs some serious updating. All of the fixtures are eroding from the salty air and there were permanent stains in the tub.
Wi-fi is an extra cost or free in the lobby. Wi-fi connection was slow and therefor we did not use it very much.
The location of this hotel is great, very close to pier and restaurants. However, cannery row is about a 15 minute walk. Since this is a conference hotel, there are constant stream of people in and out of the conference center. Not great for our anniversary trip.
We tried to use the pool, but it was so small and not heated. The hot tub was also small, it was difficult to fit more than 4 people at a time.
Food was again very average, nothing special. Thankfully there are many other choices nearby.
Overall, this hotel is quite simply average and will work fine for most people. I probably would not stay here again. It feels like a generic Marriott and I prefer a more unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff is so hospitable, the rooms clean and comfortable and the restaurant offers gourmet dishes. What more could one want for a stay in Monterey. The location is within walking distance of so many attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked this hotel for my family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers). The hotel has great service, a beautiful lobby with an atrium, great location, heated pool and large spa and they give fresh baked chocolate chip cookies which my kids loved. The room was nice enough but they only offer a king bed or 2 doubles to choose from. If you have small children the 2 double beds would work but not with teenagers. The beds were just too small. The best part of this hotel is the location to everything you went to Monterey to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the street if traffic noise would interrupt your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for a conference, but had time to play in addition. It's a pretty walk along the bay to the Aquarium and lots of fun places to eat. I didn't get to use thr spa services, but would have loved to.
The room was nicely decorated, with white shutters instead of curtains and a super comfy bed.
Definitely a place to recommend for a vacation or conference!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wow, what can we say. This property is almost right at the wharf and our room overlooked a pedestrian walkway. The room was well appointed and we loved the look of the plantation blinds. Although we have seen more upgraded bathrooms (ie: no granite), the bath was fine too. I think the bed was comfortable, my husband said it could have been more comfy.

The real plus for this hotel is its location. The front desk was super helpful. We asked for a specific room on the parking garage side so that we could roll our bikes in easily to our room and we were accommodated right away. The whole idea behind our trip was to bike the trail up to the Fort Ord area. The front desk also gave us cookies upon check in which is always fun.

Our favorite coffee shop (not Starbucks) was only a block up the street, so we were really happy for a great breakfast not too far away. So, we rode our bikes right out of our hotel room and never had to get in the car over the weekend if we did not want to.

Normally outside of what we want to spend, we found a good sale on hotels.com and another lady we met in the hot-tub got a good deal by booking her room 20 days out. Things to be aware of - parking in the garage is $17.00 per day with in/out privileges (although the lady we met got the parking included by booking in advance). Also beware of your room location. Some locations by streets or pedestrian walkways might be noisier at night. My guess is that the quietest rooms will be over the courtyard in the main building.

We have stayed many places in the area and this is now my #1 location. Just loved it. We did not even get to the spa services. Just another plus for this hotel.

Room Tip: Away from streets and pedestrian walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Portola is within walking distance to wharf and all rooms are spacious and quiet. We have stayed on the 6th floor with ocean view (large patio with chairs) and the 5th floor, where we enjoyed a Winter Special rate of $179 / Night; King Bed with daily in-room breakfast from Jack's Menu. Rooms are the same size (except the ocean view had a larger patio w/ several chairs). We chose Valet-Parking $20 / night over Self-Parking because our car was always available. Staff is professional, friendly and willing to do anything to accommodate. For years, we stayed on Pacific Street, but love not having to 'climb the hill' and we like walking the area and being able to go on tours directly from the hotel. Also, this hotel accepts pets, believe for a $50 cleaning deposit.

Room Tip: Subscribe to their newsletter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portola Hotel & Spa is located on the waterfront Monterey. Just steps away from historic Fisherman’s Wharf and the Monterey Bay, the hotel offers 379 nautically inspired guest rooms and suites, two onsite eateries, a full service day spa and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.