We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return of the Individual Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Return of the Individual Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel has just been newly decorated with a nautical theme. The rooms look good and are well kept. The locally made mattresses on the beds are very comfortable. Since the new owners dropped the "Double Tree" franchise a few years ago the hotel has has seemed to be interested only in large groups there for meetings. Now Individual travelers seem welcome once more. There is a new spirit in all the staff who are uniformly very pleasant and helpful. Slightly better pricing is available. The breakfast is still good but now a buffet only.

Room Tip: Room 520 had a decent view of the bay over the lower buildings of the hotel. Overall it was spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    440
    169
    93
    39
See reviews for
370
464
52
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from a one night stay at the Portola. Overall, the stay was fine. The lobby was all dressed up for the holidays, and it was very pretty. Our room was nice, clean, and spacious. It was, however, a hike from the front desk. We soon found out that it was easier to get to if we went in by Peter B's brew pub.
We ate at Peter B's twice and while the food was decent the service was bad. We had two tables, one with 4 kids, and the waiter took the adults' order and ignored the kids for what seemed like ages. And we weren't offered a kids' menu. Drinks didn't show up. Overall, not so good. The burgers are tasty, though. And the beer, too.
One word of advice. If you want to go to the hot tub, pool area, make sure to ask for a robe. You have to go down into the lobby, out the door, and across the shopping area, to enter the spa area. Not so bad if you're wearing clothes and are dry for the walk there. But it's a bit embarassing to have to wrap a towel around yourself and walk through the lobby. Really. And bring a drink with you. There wasn't any water available.
The Portola is a nice, clean place but not my favorite Monetery hotel. Would I stay again? If we got another great deal I would.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I can't understand how they charge over $240/night for such outdated rooms. The hotel itself is quite beautiful from the outside and the lobby so when you check in, they think to yourself, "wow, it's so spacious and lovely" and when you get into your tiny 200 sq. ft. room, you notice the cracks in the corner, the hair in the bathtub, and the horrible lighting.

But you weight the pros: beautiful little paths to the shops, minutes from the water, it's quiet, and the staff is super pleasant. That being said, once you get back inside the hotel, it's another story. The weekend I was there, there was a horde of small children running in and out of the hotel, the pool, and the elevators. HItting all the buttons for the floors is cute once, not three times.

I know the hotels can't do anything about really rowdy pint sized children bumping into their patrons but the lack of noise control really makes me feel like I'm staying at a Holiday Inn Express rather than a fine 3.5 star hotel.

And also, how hard is it to find a reservation in your OpenTable system when the restaurant is not even 1/4 booked? The server explained that the girls at the desk were new, but it was still aggravating to sit there in the lounge all decked out while they try to discreetly find the special notes attached to the initial reservations I could have pulled out on my phone.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My title sums it up and here's why...

Pros:

Good location. You can walk to fishermans wharf which is literally right next to the hotel. There's other nearby restaurants and shops.

Parking garae was close to hotel. But I think $17 a day to self park is ridiculous when your paying $200 a night to stay at the hotel.

Cons:

Check in is at 4pm. So we arrived at 4:10pm and had to wait 20 minutes for our room to be ready. I've never had that happen at any hotel I've stayed at.

They advertise a delicious fresh and warm chocolate chip cookie. The bag the cookie comes in wven says that...Well it was a cold hard gingerbread cookie! Yuck!

You can hear everything through the walls! Everytime any toilet flushes you can hear it.

The bed is hard! My back hurts and I could only stay in that bed for so long which meant I didn't get very much sleep!

And the worst con is that their pool and jacuzzi is across this alley/ street in a seperate building! Most days in Monterrey it's pretty cold weather. So we had to walk in a wet bathing suit back from the jacuzzi, cross the street and through the main lobby back to our room. This area is busy with people. It's kinda weird to see half naked people freezing their butts off in the midst of happy shoppers. And the jacuzzi was like a warm bath, not a hot tub!


I wouldn't stay here again. I'll try the Marriott next door for my next stay in Monterrey.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Last time we requested foam pillows and a featherfree blanket ahead of time, stayed for 2 nights and even though we asked twice more during our stay, we never got them. There were also cleanliness problems with the room.

Upon invitation back with one night free because of the difficulties experienced last time, we stayed for 2 nights this time and everything was ok until we got back from being out all day around 8:30 pm and found our door wide open with no one around. There had been turn down service, but they forgot to close the door. Fortunately, there was nothing missing and they gave us breakfast free the next morning, but we are seriously wondering whether they can get their act together at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012 on our way up the coast. The room was very nice and there was plenty of room for the 2 of us. We drove down Canery Row as it really is about a 25 min walk but is very centrally located in the centre of town. Got a warm oatmeal cookie each at check in and receptionist seemed very nice. Clean hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Make sure you stop by the concierge desk, great service and she is a doll to talk to. Rooms were very nice and front desk even upgraded me to a nicer veiw for my girlfriend and I Would def stay again, it was worth the extra cost as the veiw, the room, the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.