We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps from the sea, conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Indio, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Steps from the sea, conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for a conference and couldn't have been happier with my room. Good sized, comfortable and clean. Best yet I got a balcony with a view of the marina. I started every morning with a walk straight from the hotel onto the shoreline path to cannery row and then the pacific grove coastline. So beautiful and relaxing. The hotel and grounds have an overall peaceful feeling. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Great place to get away for business, it would also be a great base for exploring the area.

This is a large property with central parking and elevators. Some rooms can be quite far from the lobby, ask for a closer room if this old be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and a view! Some rooms can be quite far from the lobby, be sure to request closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    492
    193
    101
    44
See reviews for
410
528
56
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during our road trip from Oregon. We booked through Priceline and got a screaming deal. The room was very comfortable and modern. The location was the best quality. You are right at Fisherman's Wharf to watch the seals, look at the bay and browse the shops. The Portola sits on the Monterey Bay Coastal Trail which is a wide paved path and goes forever. The trail also takes you on about a 10-15 minute walk along the waterfront to Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The aquarium is a must. Cannery Row does have a Starbucks! We ate at the Cannery Row Brewery Company. Good beer selection and atmosphere. We enjoyed the area and the Portola so much we stayed an extra night!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Upon our check-in, We felt welcomed by valet, the front desk personnel, and conceigne. The warm chocolate chip oatmeal cookies at check-in were an added plus. The room coffee maker was a Keurig. Real ceramic cups too! Beds were extremely comfortable. There was over 150 cable channels. We walked to the MB Aquarium which was 1.2miles away, but the walk there was pleasant. We saw all kinds of birds sitting on rocks on the bay, seals, and sea lions were at different locations along our walk to the aquarium. Had a wonderful breakfast at a restaurant on Fisherman's Wharf which had a good view of the sea lions. Also, got a good fleeced lined jacket for $20.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great location and atmosphere at Portola, with an ice skating rink outside and shops leading to Fisherman's Wharf nearby. The check in experience was weird. The lady didn't seem to know or care that we wanted a nice room in a great location, with easy access to the spa. She placed us as far from civilization as she could get us. We walked a half mile through the hotel and up four floors to an unacceptable place. So we tried again, and this time the room was fine. We didn't suffer from excessive noise, because the conference we attended wasn't a wild bunch. We went out of the hotel for dinner and drinks. Loved the running path that took me all the way to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and back on foot.

Room Tip: Communicate your expectations and see a couple rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've been staying a this property a few time a year for the pasted several years, it's my favorite. Consistently comfortable, inviting, friendly, & clean. The locations is just right, near most of the touristy type attractions, and very near the local's favorite spots. I've stayed at many other Hotels in the Monterey area, I do and will continue to come back to Portola.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were happy with our 4 night stay in Monterey. The location was perfectly situated within walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf and nearby restaurants. The lobby is beautifully decorated with holiday lights and comfortable chairs. The staff were very helpful and friendly, providing us guidance with directions and any questions we had. The room was clean and spacious with very comfortable beds and fully equipped bathroom. The poolside and jacuzzi are open until 10pm and well kept. In addition, Jack's bar lounge and restaurant provided a relaxing atmosphere and were convenient for room service as well as dining in. There is also a pub called Peter B's where you can try different microbreweries in a casual atmosphere to hang out and watch the game on TV by the bar.

Adjacent to the lobby are several stores displaying fashionwear, jewelry and sunglasses. We did not have time to experience the spa which provides a variety of services such as facials, massages and herbal treatments. There are also conference rooms located on the third floor.l

All in all, Portola Hotel and Spa is a conveniently located, well decorated, plush and friendly place to stay in Monterey. We give it 5 stars and will stay there during our next visit there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked a double room for 2 nights during Thanksgiving from an offer online.
We specifically requested a room in the quiet wing after reading reviews about the noise level of this hotel from T.A.
We even called the hotel and confirming a room in the quieter wing of the hotel.
Upon checking in, we reiterated the request to this lady, Marissa, and she said "yes, your room is find, it's in the quieter part of the hotel".
Low and behold, the first night, starting from 9pm and lasted to way past 1AM, the noises from the restaurant below was so loud, with drunk patrons.
The hotel is clean, the room is nice and the beds are great.
Unfortunately, if we can't sleep because of all the noise, what good is the room and beds?
The location of the hotel is great, but I would not stay in this hotel again after what happened.

Room Tip: I would recommend book early and get a house or condo through Homeaway. Or hopefully, upon checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.