We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Save Saved
You added Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Lodi, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've enjoyed this hotel twice in the last year, initially three nights on business, and most recently a weekend mini-vacation. There is no seaside or quaint 'charm' here, this is a very large and modern property, but you can expect your room to be spacious, immaculate, with a particularly comfortable bed, and responsive housekeeping staff. It's location is perfect for walks along the bay, checking out the wharf, or visiting downtown's flea market. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Jacks located in the hotel and although abit expensive, we felt it worth every dime. We were on the fifth floor and were not bothered by noise from the Pub, the seals, or other guests. There is no air conditioning, simply unnecessary in Monterey 95 percent of the time. We were completely satisfied with our stay until we returned and read the trip-advisor reviews. We weren't offered cookies...

Room Tip: There is parking on the street on Sat PM and Sundays (otherwise two hour limit) if you have a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    415
    151
    92
    38
See reviews for
350
438
49
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms were immaculate and the service excellent. They even serve warm cookies upon registration!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went to Monterey to celebrate our anniversary. Portola was the perfect place to celebrate. The staff was excellent and the room was great. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here on our honeymoon trip around the States earlier this year. This was one of the best hotels we had stayed in during our trip in the US. When we arrived at reception, we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who even gave us a freshly baked cookie each. Our room was huge, there were 2 double beds and a large bathroom. The room was done up tastefully and the bed was really comfortable.
We ordered room service breakfast and the portions were just huge! We couldn't get used to the big portions in the States and ended up wasting most of the food unfortunately.
Really regretted not staying here for more than one night though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Unfortunately, we were only there for one night. We can think of no unkind words. The check in was great. We booked through priceline but were treated like royalty and given a wonderful room with an ocean view. The staff could not have treated us better. This hotel is literally a few steps from Fishermans Wharf,and very close to cannery row and other attractions. It has been a very long time since we stayed in a hotel this friendly and nice. The only noise we heard at night were the seals at the wharf. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you can enjoy Monterey for more than one night!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spend 2 nights at Portola w my girlfriend... we were able to walk everywhere around town. Lobby was very nice and room was good. Would stay there again if I come back to town. Close to Laguna Seca, Carmel, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a great spot, walking distance to the pier and to the aquarium. The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. I stayed here for a conference at the hotel but I would stay at this hotel again if I was going for a personal trip. We did not have any issues with noise outside our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portola Hotel & Spa is located on the waterfront Monterey. Just steps away from historic Fisherman’s Wharf and the Monterey Bay, the hotel offers 379 nautically inspired guest rooms and suites, two onsite eateries, a full service day spa and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.