We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty alternative to touristy fish places” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Epsilon Fine Greek Restaurant

Epsilon Fine Greek Restaurant
422 Tyler St, Monterey, CA 93940-3028
831-655-8108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Epsilon Fine Greek Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Franklin
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Tasty alternative to touristy fish places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you want a break from the tourist restaurants or seafood, try this little family-owned place. The lamb shish kabob was quite good and tender. The service was personal and gracious; and the food offered a variety of new tastes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I've been here for lunch and dinner and really like this restaurant. The staff is really attentitive, which I sometimes find annoying but they are just really nice here. I am not exactly an expert in greek food but I like it. I recently had the gyros and the salads that came with it were good. Worth a try if you are in monterey and in the mood for greek.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Greek??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place is absolutely not Greek; the food they offer is a pale reflection of Greek, and absolutely not appetising. I took imam bayaldi (Greek only if you make a concession); it came on an enormous plate full of rice, other kinds of nameless and tasteless veg, and tasted sweet. So we're talking Greek sanitised for unadventurous American taste. Very disappointing - pity because the decor is appealing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dry, uninspiring, too expensive food. Friendly staff though.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor, my friend and I, on our one night in Monteray travelling Big Sur, choose Epsilon for dinner.

Before entering the restaurant we studies the menu by the door and found the prices and the food appealing. Then when we sat down by the table and looked over the menu, we found out that the menu by the entrance was the lunch menu, which was quite cheaper! It was of course our own fault that we didn't pay attention, but still...

My friend ordered the lamb and I got the salmon. The rice, green beans (which was all grey, probably made from frozen beans) and the white bean salat was on both plates - not very original, and I don't think the side dishes fitted my salmon, which was very dry! I was very dissapointed. The lamb according to my friend was fine and so was the service, the waitress was very sweet. We each ordered a glas of wine and the bill ended at 70$, which I think was way too expensive for what we got!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Found Epsilon Fine Greek Restaurant on the Tripadvisor mobile app a few weeks ago when we were passing through Monterey. We had been craving some Greek food and we were happy to have found this place. Restaurant was pretty empty. Only two other tables, but it was a little past the usual time for dinner rush. Menu had the typical choices, plenty to try if you've not had Greek before. The waiter was awesome and attentive to us. Dolmades were decent. Gyro meat was okay. Overall the meal was not too shabby. Not the best Greek food I've ever had, but fair. I will say that I do eat a lot of Greek, Middle Eastern, and Mediterranean food, so I can be a little picky about it. Bottom line, if you're looking for Greek in Monterey, this is it, and it's not bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epsilon Fine Greek Restaurant also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Epsilon Fine Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epsilon Fine Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.