We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fisherman's Grotto

Old Fisherman's Grotto
39 Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey, CA 93940
831. 375.4604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Fisherman's Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had not eaten here for over 30 years but our lunch was as good as I remembered it.
While the wharf overall seems a bit "tourist tacky", this place still offers great seafood.
We both had the clam chowder (that you can sample before you come in like most of the places on the wharf) and then we had the Grilled Artichokes and the Fried Calamari. Both wonderful!
Would definitely go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    267
    90
    36
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“People need to get out more often...what is with these reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We ate here for lunch while taking a walk on the pier and after checking web reviews. The Monterey, Carmel, Pacific Grove area offers so many great restaurants and after seeing good reviews. I though this was another...sadly that was not the case. It is a nice place and to be fair the service was very good, but amongst the four of us at the table we had a very good seafood casserole, a very mediocre turkey sandwich, a so-so kind of blah hot crab sandwich and a very poor pasta dish that wouldn't even qualify for a Chef Boyardee label. So as a very disappointing experience, I doubt I will ever return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We both had the crab louie, very good, abundant and flavorful. Service was excellent. The view was fabulous. Just the perfect place for lunch after a hike and the 17 mile drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome clam chouder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

came here for lunch with the family. I think this may be the best time to come since it was already crowded, Im sure it is even busier for dinner. My family had the clam chowder which had a lot of roasted garlic in it! They all raved about it. I had the vegetarian pesto pasta dish which was also great. The deserts also stuck out as fresh and well prepared. All of the other restaurants on the wharf will try to tempt you with their chowder, but this one is the best!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews on various restaurants in the area (just to compare; we only had one night for a romantic dinner) it was a no brainer to return to OFG. Our meal was delicious from the calimari appetizer to our entrees (I had the petrale sole).Their famous clam chowder is so creamy and delicious...my favorite anywhere! And of course, the rose for the lady at the end of the meal...it's been a touch I remember in every visit. We may only get to Monterey every few years, but my choice of dining is always here and it is always a special treat!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fisherman's Grotto also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Old Fisherman's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fisherman's Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.