We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food. Regret we could not order more.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fisherman's Grotto

Old Fisherman's Grotto
39 Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey, CA 93940
+1 831-375-4604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Fisherman's Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 267 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Description: Located on historic Fisherman's Wharf with stunning views of the Monterey Harbor, Old Fisherman's Grotto is a "must visit" restaurant. The "Grotto" has rightfully earned its worldwide reputation for only the finest cuisine in a superb atmosphere and service. Featuring fresh seafood from sustainable sources including Macadamia Crusted Halibut, Hawaiian Swordfish, Ultimate Seafood Pasta, live Crab and Lobster, the Grotto also offers a variety of the finest "Certified Angus Beef". Start with our award-winning clam chowder and finish by indulging in one of our fresh house-made desserts. Enjoy a bottle of wine from our 2014, 2015 Wine Spectator Award Wine list with over 200 selections specializing in local vineyards. AAA 3 Diamond Rating, Monterey Peninsula Chamber "Business Excellence" Award Winner. 2010 1St Place "West Coast Chowder Competition", "Best Chowder" Monterey County for 12 consecutive years , Winner "Best Calamari" three consecutive years in the Monterey County's Weekly Magazine "People's Choice Award". No high chairs. No strollers. No booster chairs. Children crying or making loud noises are a distraction to other diners and as such not permitted in the dining room.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very good food. Regret we could not order more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We made a reservation for this restaurant for a Thursday night dinner. Upon arrival we were promptly seated by the window with a view of the bay as we requested upon making a reservation. They offered a free simple appetizer and we've got fried calamari and fried artichoke hearts. None of these was remarkable. For a drink I ordered Top shelf Bloody Mary which was really good and my wife had a Lemon Drop which was equally good. Before the main entry we decided to share a cup of clam chowder and it was by far better most of the chowders we ate in New England where we live. There were two main entries on the menu which I wanted to try - Bouillabaisse and a seafood paella. Both portions were big according to the server and we decided to share the paella as we were already pretty full with the seafood from the lunch. Paella was interesting, not excellent but very good. I wish I could try their Bouillabaisse but we were leaving the next morning

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    287
    99
    38
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Whow what a treat some great Seafood in beautiful surroundings with great views. I opted for the Grilled Artichoke and Calamari as a starter followed by The Fisherman's Wharf Platter which was half Dungeness Crab, Grilled Shrimps, Scallops and Crab Cake, served with sweet corn risotto and sauteed organic vegetables. It was delicious and perfectly cooked. The service was excellent and well worth the visit. there is so many restaurants to choose from on the pier, but this choice was right for me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Old Fisherman's Grotto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently ate at OFG on our visit to Monterey and as it was a Saturday night we had to weight 30 minutes to get in. We had a nice window table looking over the Bay and the décor was quite rustic. I had the macadamia crusted halibut and my partner the sea bass and we both quite enjoyed our meals and the price was reasonable as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived late in Monterey and like lots of others people head to the tourist trap of Fisherman's Wharf we both same meal and a glass of Riesling. Well from our experience the wine was too sweet and wrong temp and did not the sharp crispness we were expecting. To be charitable; they may have selected a VERY sweet version of the wine....
Anyway enough of as moan about that, the food was Cod with a Parmesan crust on a bed of vegetables - mmmmm. Well don't I've not experienced Brussels Sprouts and fish before but it's not good - it's obviously a new taste sensation yet to be discovered: but I think this combo will join the ranks of failed combos of fish & bicycles!
PS The fish was over cooked almost rubbery, doubtfully fresh and more than a bit of a 'Salty sea dog'!
PPS Oh yes we forget to mention we thought the dessert looked like a wax works model so much we poked it and we're told it was real we left quickly afterwards with the lovely rose that they gave us; we are a bit to cynical for roses to sweeten this experience best left to the young and silly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The BEST clam chowder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When you walk down the wharf in the afternoon, you're greeted with numerous samples of clam chowder from the different restaurants on the wharf that try to get you into their dining area. I had done a little research before our trip and noted that there was much ado about the clam chowder at the Old Fisherman's Grotto. I came out to the wharf for lunch in between classes for a conference I attended near the wharf and sort of already had my mind set on going to this restaurant. I did sample another restaurant's clam chowder, and there was a weird, disinfectant-like taste to it.. ick...

One sample of chowder from the Old Fishermand's Grotto waiter sampling them at the front and all I could think about was this smooth chowder and a sourdough bread bowl. It seemed pricier than other place, and I think it's cheaper if you buy it at the stand outside of the restaurant. Dine-in menu price for a bread bowl is $12.. but it was really worth it! My husband got a "bowl" of soup (instead of the bread bowl), and they came out with a VERY generous portion in a huge clam-shaped bowl! We also got the grilled artichoke which was ok.. it had too much of the lemon sauce, but the aioli dipping sauce was delicious and cut the vinegary tartness on the artichoke. We got seated at a booth with a window looking out onto the wharf.. a seaside view would have been nice, but we didn't have much time for lunch to enjoy the ambiance anyway.

Roberto, our waiter, was very nice and treated us as if we had ordered the most expensive things on the menu, even though all we had were 2 soups and the artichoke app. Like the local who posted a review below, don't mind the fact that this is in a touristy part of Monterey. This is the best clam chowder.... hands down!!! It's smooth, creamy, and doesn't taste fishy... the clam bits almost melt in your mouth and there are good chunks of potato to sink your teeth into!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fisherman's Grotto also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Old Fisherman's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fisherman's Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.