We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine seafood fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fisherman's Grotto

Old Fisherman's Grotto
39 Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey, CA 93940
+1 831-375-4604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Fisherman's Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 267 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott Street
Description: Located on historic Fisherman's Wharf with stunning views of the Monterey Harbor, Old Fisherman's Grotto is a "must visit" restaurant. The "Grotto" has rightfully earned its worldwide reputation for only the finest cuisine in a superb atmosphere and service. Featuring fresh seafood from sustainable sources including Macadamia Crusted Halibut, Hawaiian Swordfish, Ultimate Seafood Pasta, live Crab and Lobster, the Grotto also offers a variety of the finest "Certified Angus Beef". Start with our award-winning clam chowder and finish by indulging in one of our fresh house-made desserts. Enjoy a bottle of wine from our 2014, 2015 Wine Spectator Award Wine list with over 200 selections specializing in local vineyards. AAA 3 Diamond Rating, Monterey Peninsula Chamber "Business Excellence" Award Winner. 2010 1St Place "West Coast Chowder Competition", "Best Chowder" Monterey County for 12 consecutive years , Winner "Best Calamari" three consecutive years in the Monterey County's Weekly Magazine "People's Choice Award". No high chairs. No strollers. No booster chairs. Children crying or making loud noises are a distraction to other diners and as such not permitted in the dining room.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Fine seafood fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The menu was complete and the setting was elegant. Along Fisherman's Wharf, you have many choices but this is a good one. Loved their special clam chowder (sort of a spicy gumbo) and had their calamari appetizer. My seafood pasta was good, although a bit too cheesy. We would go again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    287
    99
    38
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sublime pork chop...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Living on the peninsula, we took advantage of the Local's menu and, not being a fish eater, I ordered the glazed stuffed pork chop with scalloped potatoes. The pork chop, large by any standard and cooked to perfection, was stuffed with a mixture of apples, nuts and crumbled blue cheese, and covered with an almost unbelievably perfect glaze. A humble pork chop elevated to heavenly status...

The clam chowder starter was, as always, wonderful; the service was first rate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Serious about their clam chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

They were serious about their clam chowder. One of the best I have ever had! I enjoyed their artichoke appetizer. Their calamari was plain. I loved their pear and Anguilla salad with pear and shrimp. Those shrimp were some of the best. Great view. Parking was a little pain, but I enjoyed the walk to the resturant and sceneary.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Holy Portion Size Batman!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We always make a stop here when we visit Monterey for their delicious classic Monterey style clam chowder, but now that I have to eat Gluten Free I was tortured passing the nice man giving out free samples. Seriously, a tear came to my eye. We ordered two kids meals, the burger and the popcorn shrimp. The burger was well done, not medium as ordered, and the popcorn shrimp could have been left in the fryer for at least a minute longer as it was not quite crispy, but neither kid complained. And each kids meal could have fed two adults...the portions were HUGE. Too bad that we were sightseeing and couldn't take a doggy bag...we could have eaten for days. The roasted artichoke was great, and the fried calamari and prawn Caesar salad was very good and again, HUGE...enough to feed two people! Our server Roberto was very helpful, and our table had a lovely view of the water and beach. This is a good option for a sit down meal on Fisherman's Wharf...just be prepared to bring home leftovers!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We always eat here for the clam chowder which is the best I have ever eaten. Other seafood offerings do not disappoint. Service is always friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fisherman's Grotto also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Old Fisherman's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fisherman's Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.