We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailside Cafe

Trailside Cafe
550 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1478
831-649-8600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place may be a little hard to find, tucked downstairs, but once inside they have a beautiful view of the bay and they are right on the walking/bike path along Cannery Row. The food and coffee are great and the service is fast and courteous. They only take cash, so come prepared - or you can use an ATM machine they have inside.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    55
    17
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food is ok service not if you get the wrong person ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

First restaurant we visited here but won't be back. Had a waitress that should not be one. Food was ok but a bit greasy. Location is beautiful. Also the only take cash but do not tell you when you place your order.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Soooo Gooood!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were staying at the Monterey Spa and Hotel and ate here for two delicious breakfast. The food was excellence along with the coffee and the staff was so attentive. Some in our party of four had the oatmeal twice as it was excellent!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Quieter Setting (Cannery Row) Bring Cash!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Set back from the busy area of Cannery Row by a block or two, the restaurant offers a very nice setting with some quiet.

We had been directed to the restaurant by a local and luckily she had mentioned that they didn't take credit cards. But they don't take debit either. Cash Only so be prepared. (They do have an ATM inside)

For the most part we enjoyed our food. I had an omelette and it was very good; my husband's sandwich as well was very good, however, his side salad consisted of lettuce with one cherry tomato and a few strands of carrots.

Although I like dogs, I don't like them to be in the outdoor restaurant area where everyone eats. Perhaps a hitching post set-up would be better. If you don't want a dog nearby when you eat, I suggest you look elsewhere.

The wait staff was somewhat 'grumpy'. An off day? He seemed fine with a table that appeared to eat there often, but didn't give us much time and was somewhat abrupt.

Would I eat here again? Maybe, the setting was nice and the food was pretty good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Breakfast Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This has a wonderful view of the Monterey Bay, good seating outside right next the the Recreation Trail. Can ride your bike or walk right to it. Food is excellent, have eaten many time at restaurant. Atmosphere is fun and on a warm day with a glass of wine, definitely feels like being on vacation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trailside Cafe also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Trailside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.