We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the laid back ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trailside Cafe

Trailside Cafe
550 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1478
831-649-8600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Monterey, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't beat the laid back ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the place if you value location, food, and ambience way above service. Really the service is non-existant, but who cares or really needs much the way it is set up? You order at the counter, and pay with cash, and then it will be a bit of a wait until it comes out, but it will be delivered by a friendly server. They have basically eliminated most of the whole service issue, which plagues so many other restaurants. We had sandwiches and salads, and they were amply sized and made with high quality ingrediants.
It's the perfect location for meeting friends on the Trail, or riding your bike along the Trail and you decide you need a break. Then you get the sea breeze, a great view and a quality meal for what is a very fair price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    51
    17
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Top quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a great breakfast place. It's small, cash only and self service but if you want good, high quality food, this is the place to go to. We had the eggs n toast and they were perfectly done. The eggs tasted organic and the home made jams were delicious. Loved it! We ordered at the counter and it was served at our table by a cheerful waitress. There is inside and outside seating, it's quiet and clean and has a lovely ambiance to start the day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Funky & Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

OK so here's the rub. None of what follows immediately here is made known to you when you walk in. You kind of have to just figure it out on the go. There is no table service, you order your meal at the walk up counter. They ONLY take cash...NO CC's. There's an ATM right inside the front door, so we fell out of line to get cash, only to be told we'll collect after your meal..Uh wha? They'll hand you your empty cup and not tell you where the coffee station is. We sat down thinking someone was bringing the coffee around until I was directed to the coffee station. Now, all this said...When our meal arrived, both dishes were absolutely fantastic. I was wondering how they were going to redeem themselves and the food will do it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great place for breakfast on Cannery Row. Wide options including my vegan scramble, but plenty of more conventional options too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“New Go-to place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love this place! Great breakfast, friendly service. Will definitely go back there next time in Monterey. Cute decor, clean.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trailside Cafe also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Trailside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.