We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING Sandwiches!!! Renowned place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compagno's Market & Deli

Compagno's Market & Deli
2000 Prescott Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2031
831-375-5987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 224 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Sandwiches!!! Renowned place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm not a huge sandwich person, however, our friend who was raised in Carmel Valley insisted that we visit this place when we were there for a conference. Little, unassuming looking market. Wow, what amazing sandwiches. Apparently this is quite a renowned place. The bread was all homemade. There were 4 of us that went that day and every single one of us LOVED our sands (they are HUGE by the way). I had a Reuben and it was outstanding! The owner was quirky and fun. East coast guy, I believe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    40
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Biggest, BEST sandwich ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Love this place the sandwiches here are huge and very tasty. Its no joke. We were too full to get desserts but just seeing them they looked delish. Will definitely try next time. We took ours to go and enjoyed eating them on the 17 mile drive in Carmel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches of our lives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is no joke! This place beats out our favorite deli in Florence, Italy. Yes, the sandwiches are monstrous, but they are also MOUTHWATERING. Every type of topping known to man is available, and meats and cheeses galore. The softest, most delicious Italian bread, too. It gets better. The owner (ugh, cannot remember his name, I'm so sorry!) is wonderful. He let us in as he was trying to close up and get to 5p mass. He unlocked the door and got to work! THANK YOU! Chips, drinks, cake, goodies, beer... It's all here. We loaded up and went picnicking at Point Lobos after the 17-mile drive, and the food was still fresh and delicious. Not at all soggy. We will be back. Can't wait to try more combinations!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Huge Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Awesome sandwiches. My husband and I shared a chicken sandwich with cheese and avocado and we were both bursting at the seams. Muster visit when in Monterey. Our huge sandwich was like $12. Awesome deal!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I read the reviews before heading to Monterey and decided we should stop here before the Seventeen Mile Drive. The reviews were correct, the sandwich was delicious and was so big we asked them cut it in half for us to share. Unlike most of the other reviewers the staff seemed preoccupied and certainly not overly friendly when we asked for directions. We thoroughly enjoyed our picnic while soaking up the amazing scenery along the Seventeen Mile drive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compagno's Market & Deli also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Compagno's Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compagno's Market & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.