We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING Sandwiches!!! Renowned place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compagno's Market & Deli

Compagno's Market & Deli
2000 Prescott Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2031
831-375-5987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 258 restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Sandwiches!!! Renowned place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm not a huge sandwich person, however, our friend who was raised in Carmel Valley insisted that we visit this place when we were there for a conference. Little, unassuming looking market. Wow, what amazing sandwiches. Apparently this is quite a renowned place. The bread was all homemade. There were 4 of us that went that day and every single one of us LOVED our sands (they are HUGE by the way). I had a Reuben and it was outstanding! The owner was quirky and fun. East coast guy, I believe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    121
    30
    1
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Biggest, BEST sandwich ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Love this place the sandwiches here are huge and very tasty. Its no joke. We were too full to get desserts but just seeing them they looked delish. Will definitely try next time. We took ours to go and enjoyed eating them on the 17 mile drive in Carmel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches of our lives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is no joke! This place beats out our favorite deli in Florence, Italy. Yes, the sandwiches are monstrous, but they are also MOUTHWATERING. Every type of topping known to man is available, and meats and cheeses galore. The softest, most delicious Italian bread, too. It gets better. The owner (ugh, cannot remember his name, I'm so sorry!) is wonderful. He let us in as he was trying to close up and get to 5p mass. He unlocked the door and got to work! THANK YOU! Chips, drinks, cake, goodies, beer... It's all here. We loaded up and went picnicking at Point Lobos after the 17-mile drive, and the food was still fresh and delicious. Not at all soggy. We will be back. Can't wait to try more combinations!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Huge Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Awesome sandwiches. My husband and I shared a chicken sandwich with cheese and avocado and we were both bursting at the seams. Muster visit when in Monterey. Our huge sandwich was like $12. Awesome deal!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I read the reviews before heading to Monterey and decided we should stop here before the Seventeen Mile Drive. The reviews were correct, the sandwich was delicious and was so big we asked them cut it in half for us to share. Unlike most of the other reviewers the staff seemed preoccupied and certainly not overly friendly when we asked for directions. We thoroughly enjoyed our picnic while soaking up the amazing scenery along the Seventeen Mile drive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compagno's Market & Deli also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Compagno's Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compagno's Market & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.