We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters here were outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grotto Fish Market

The Grotto Fish Market
42 Old Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey, CA 93940
831-372-3769
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Oysters here were outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had wandered the wharf and it was crowded, my husband was looking for oysters, we poked our noses into the dark interior, and he noticed them refilling the oyster bar and that many people were eating them, so, in we went, and sat at the bar.

Trade was brisk it was fun to see them preparing the seafood platters etc., We soon had our drinks and selected a variety of oysters - very happy husband. We followed with crab and it was very good, and we enjoyed the experience.

It is small dark and very busy, no fine dining, just people eating, drinking and talking - great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We'd wet our feet in Monterey Bay, walked along the quay looking for Cannery Row, and found this pier at the harbour. There are loads of taffy shops and a very nice gift shop, but as we walked along we could smell seafood. We'd had a not very good chowder in sourdough bowl at Pier 39 in San Francisco (I cant find the receipt just now so cant review!) but here there were cafes offering a taste of the soup to get you in. Him indoors tasted this one, and was hooked!
It was really excellent, full of chunks of fish and shrimps thick and creamy broth, and the sourdough bread was fresh that day. The atmosphere in this little café was really nice, the waiters and guys behind the bar dead friendly, and we got a SOUP spoon!
For two breadbowls of soup and two fizzy waters the cost was$27.84. Excellent value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The place appears small and a bit cramped but we were lured into by the very tasty clam chowder sample. We finally had a whole crab each, which comes with a bowl of clam chowder and we were very pleased. The service was very quick, friendly, and professional. And we were lucky to get one of the two tables at the window facing the wharf so we could watch sea lions swimming just in front of us.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“We expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The restaurant looks appealing, and the lobster special sounded good. The problem is that they're already cooked before they heat them back up for you so they're overcooked. Unless you tell them otherwise, they're drowning in butter as well.

The staff was friendly and efficient. We just expected more for the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The BEST in Monterey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

After days and days eating only deep fried stuff we finally end up in this heaven of the fish food. Everything is extremely fresh and tasty and the fish is NOT fried. They warned us at the entrance that nothing is fried there, and that if we wanted some fried food for our child we could have bring it from outside (very nice from them).
We have the typical crab soup in the bred cup and was wonderful! We also had steammed crabs, clams, shrimps and lobster. Everything was perfectly cooked and very high quality fresh fish.
The price was fair enough indeed (about 60 dollars for all this, and a bear, including a big tuna salad for the kid)
I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grotto Fish Market also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to The Grotto Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grotto Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.