We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal very convenient to our hote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Wall Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Great Wall Restaurant
724 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940
(831) 372-3637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 257 restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Chester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice meal very convenient to our hote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived abrego hotel lateish so just trotted across the road. Very nice meal. Prompt and friendly service. It was virtually empty on a Thursday night in September.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    6
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our getaway day from Monterey and the Great Wall was near our hotel. We were not warmly greeted but just seated without a word. Then, our waitress appeared and she was the nicest, most pleasant gal. We ordered the Kung Pao Shrimp and the Kung Pao Fish and made slight changes to what would ordinarily be in the dishes. Usually, if you do this in a Chinese restaurant, the kitchen ignores what the waiters ask. Not here, our order was exactly what we ordered.

The food was also very good and, of course, the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A decent option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had one of the combo plates here. The food overall was good but not above par. Typical Chinese fare with a few bright spots. The soup was good and the portions were plentiful. The waitress was amazing - quite pleasant and patient. I'll probably return at some point and try some other dish because I do believe there may be a few gems on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ordered the chowfun and orange chicken, it was soooo yummy! I hate to admit that there are few places which can compete with Panda's orange chicken and this is one of them! My kids couldn't get enough of that stuff! YUMMY! Quite a find!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Good Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Delicious dishes were Seafood Soup, Walnut Prawns, Steamed Fish Fillet and Mongolian Beef. Easy parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Wall Restaurant also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to The Great Wall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Wall Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.