We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Monterey to your Saves list
Super 8 Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2120 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    198
    77
    15
    12
See reviews for
109
216
34
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Worked in Monterey CA, on 7.19.13. My boss put me up at the Super 8. While I have no problem staying at most any motel, the Super 8, on Munras was a nice, clean, comfortable motel. The room was very nice, large, comfortable, flatsceeen tv with cable, free wireless internet. The bed. THE BED! I got into bed about 10:15pm. and OMG! I texted my boss and advised that I was going to have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning. The BED was so comfortable, I slept like a baby in a car!
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was no problem, amenities where sufficient. The location was close to the Wharf, to resturants, to places to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and two teenage boys stayed here for 4 days (3 nights). The hotel and our room were very clean. Room was a bit small but the extra sink area outside of the bathroom was convenient for a family of 4. Also, liked the mini fridge & microwave. The grounds were neat and I liked all the flowers everywhere. Parking and internet were included. Also, included was the continental breakfast which was basic but good. (Toast, waffles, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juice). There's also an outdoor pool. It's located across the street from the Del Monte Shopping Centre which was very convenient. The shopping centre has a Whole Foods where you can pick up hot & cold foods from the deli for a quick lunch or dinner. Approx. a 10 min drive to the Monterey Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf. For travellers on a budget, this hotel is great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The room was wunderful and very clean. The people were so friendly and kind. They helped us to search a new place to stay, when we left. The gabe us some informations about monterey. They offered an nice breakfasf with juice and coffee and even toast. The room was just awesome. Thanks again for everything

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What can I say? It is a Super 8 motel. For a room at a motel where amenities are considered minimal, this Super 8 motel packs quite a bang for the buck! We stayed over for one night on July 1st before trekking up to Sonoma and were surprised at how clean our room is. The staff is friendly and social, giving us some tips about Lake Tahoe once they found out that Reno was the last stop over in our itinerary.

The hotel is located near the epicenter of Monterey, so everything, from Cannery Row, to Fisherman's Wharf, to Lighthouse Lane is all within a few minute's driving distance. The bed is comfortable, the room was quite roomy and the bathroom is cavernous. It's probably the largest bathroom I've ever seen in any given lodging. The AC works extremely well and efficient, which is a plus.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return when we return to Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the kinds words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Clean rooms, great sized rooms and ample toiletries provided. Nice staff and willing to assist with directions. With so many hotels in the same area, it was hard to pick one. This one had everything we needed! Would stay here again. Great location, parking was great and close to town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are glad you had a great experience at our property. With many choices in the area, guests can get overwhelmed with the choices. We are glad our property met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Address: 2120 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.