We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 Stay was Geeat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2120 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Oakland
1 review
“Super 8 Stay was Geeat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was nervous because it wasn't a very expensive hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was great. The couple at the desk were wonderful. My only complaint is the weird smell. I had to run to the CVS and grab some renuzit spray but that solved the problem.

All in all great and I will be back there if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay and appreciated the value. We apologize for the slight inconvenience. We have contracted with a reputable company for our room deodorizers and will evaluate the product and procedures further. Thank you and we hope to see you soon. Please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    182
    73
    15
    12
See reviews for
104
198
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was an amazing motel and the managers are super helpful! They were more than happy to give us directions to all the tourist destinations. The room was clean and tidy, shower had great pressure. The breakfast was nice and helped us save money as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with other. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the service. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice clean rooms that look like they were remodeled recently. Great location near several restaurants and a CVS is nearby for snacks or other miscellaneous items. The complementary breakfast has your basics: waffles, toast, cereal to get your morning started. The rates are very good considering the value you get along with the location. Free WiFi adds to the value unlike other hotels that want to charge for Internet. If your looking for a nice, clean, and good value hotel this is a great place to stay. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Vending and Ice machine are located near the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you had a great stay. The breakfast and internet are complimentary and add to the value. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our home for a week. My son is military and I had traveled with him to CA to help with the drive and see the west coast. We found the motel just by driving by. I have to say I am rather picky and they passed the test. You couldnt ask for a nicer couple who try to be helpful in every way. The room was clean, all non smoking...not sprayed to try to cover smoke, they are non pet but thats good for those with allergies. The house keepers didnt bother you if the do not disturb was on the door but always made sure we had clean towels and supplies. I was there alone at times and felt safe no matter what time of day or night. The breakfast was nice and helped us save money as well. Its located close to montery, the warf, cannery row and DLI. There are resturants close by even in walking distance. The price was on target but it was as nice as some to the rather expensive hotels I normally stay. It is small but very quiet for the night. All I can say is they made my experience stress free and their kindness went beyond professional. I will stay there again and recommend it to everyone.

Kathy Raines - Church Hill, TN

Room Tip: Any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad you made our property your home for a week. Our staff takes great pride in their work and your kind words will be appreciated. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Address: 2120 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.