We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Monterey to your Saves list
Super 8 Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2120 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Austin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stay was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The staff were accommodating. Breakfast is limited, but was expected for the price. We had breakfast outside. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were spacious. When you checkin, if you need an iron box, get it at the reception as they don't place one in the room. Had a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in cleanliness and your kind words will be appreciated. We have also revamped our breakfast to offer a greater selection and enhance the guest experience. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    198
    77
    15
    12
See reviews for
109
217
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a clean and welcoming, updated motel. We slept well all three nights. The owners are friendly, helpful and accommodating. We had a very nice stay at the hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the comfortable beds. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved staying four nights in this Super 8 motel in Monterey. The rooms were older, but very clean and the staff extremely helping in assisting us with planning our stay in Monterey. Internet connections were good and the hot breakfast was very nice. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are glad you loved our Super 8. Our staff is knowledgable about the area and are glad to assist. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Monterey can be a pricey town, but the Super 8 does well in providing good value. It is quiet, has reasonable beds (for a Super 8!) and the owners are fairly nice.

I got a good night's sleep. The bathroom was roomy and comfortable. Good TV, good A/C and good mini fridge. Good experience.

Room Tip: In a single-level motel like this, I request a room "away from the road, etc."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you appreciated the value and our guest room amenities. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CITRUS HEIGHTS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a beautifully updated little hotel. I was pleased and grateful. A superiour value for a budget minded traveler. The staff was kind and helpful. I forgot an item in the room when I left. They promptly found it for me and arranged for it to be delivered to my home. I will stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are glad you had a nice time at our property and felt it was beautiful. We are a smaller property, but this allows our staff to offer personalized attention. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed one night in super 8 motel in monterey . Although a small room hotel meets the minimum requirements. Free internet connection speed is relatively normal and the most basic breakfast. Cheapest price paid for it provides, do not expect too much. Hotel a bit far of the main attractions of Monterey but if you have a car this is not a problem.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Our rooms are smaller than the average size guest room across the United States; however, comparable to similar properties in Monterey. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Address: 2120 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#13 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.