We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Franca Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Villa Franca Inn to your Saves list
Villa Franca Inn
900 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Dorado Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Breakfast To Remember
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Alta Loma, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family would like to thank the El Dorado Inn for being so understanding. We booked a room to celebrate our Anniversary as we started up the coast to celebrate our two oldest grandsons graduations!. A week before we were to leave on vacation ( my husband is retired and I've been teaching 44 years) we got word my 89 year old mother was in the hospital. I quickly cancelled all reservations. For some reason our reservation for El Dorado Inn was pending? My beautiful mother passed away. We were charged for the night stay in Monterey. With a few phone calls the matter was resolved. Thank you so much for understanding our situation. I highly recommend this cute little hotel if you are ever in Monterey.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, Manager at Villa Franca Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you! I've met so many really wonderful people this past year as the manager of the inn.
My vision for our little place, is that it will be clean, warm/friendly, and a good place to come and just relax. Though we aren't a full bed and breakfast, the homemade breakfast and casual, friendly atmosphere hopefully helps us meet that goal. We aren't a 5 star bed and breakfast, we're more a working-class oasis from all the hustle and bustle that comes with travel. Come again anytime...it was a real pleasure to meet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

First, let me say that Ms Sharon is amazing! Her delicious muffins in the morning are a great start to the day! We (family of 4) stayed for a week and it was truly our home away from home. Ms Sharon told us where to eat, where to wash clothes, what is the best times to visit, everything! The rooms were recently remodeled, carpets were clean and the bathroom had been updated. (Carpets did not look dirty, but service men were arriving the day we checked out in order to shampoo then again). No AC, but that doesn't matter bc the cool Monterey air cooled the room comfortably. It was a safe place to stay (leave your windows open all day). The beds were comfortable and pillows were soft. My girls called Ms Sharon their "Grammy away from home". Her personal stories shared, laughing, and dedication to her job was shining through. I would definately go back and stay here again! You can absolutely see the love and care that goes into this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, Manager at Villa Franca Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for coming to our little inn and leaving such a wonderful gift of yourselves with us. My granddaughter wrote Zoe loves Timmy on your rock and we put it back in the garden as lasting memory of your visit...come agina anytime and visit...blessings, Sharon and Elvira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozona, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed one night and the lady at the desk (manager/owner?) was very friendly and helpful. She made an amazing homemade breakfast, and I haven't stopped thinking about her muffins! I may have to ask for the recipe! The room was clean and comfortable, with a recently updated bathroom. The beds were comfortable, too. What more could you ask for! If we ever find ourselves in the area, I will DEFINITELY stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a shower, but a few have tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Monterey not having pre-booked and ended up in this little gem! Sharon couldn't have been more helpful, we had a problem with our hire car and she insisted we use her own phone to call the hire company. The room was very clean and after a good nights sleep the breakfast was an unexpected bonus, personally prepared by Sharon, muffins, oatmeal, coffee and freshly cut fruit. The location of the inn ticks another box as it is less than a 10 minute walk to the town centre. Highly recommended"

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My daughter and I met my sister and her friend from Oklahoma and shared a room that was ample for all 4 of us. The hostess, Sharon, was so down to earth as well as an excellent cook. We all loved her blueberry/banana muffins. She provided such healthy, nutritional foods for breakfast. We especially enjoyed the fire log in our room. I'm planning on booking a room at this place the next time I come to Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hospitality is over the top! Best breakfast, steel cut oatmeal and home baked muffins. We had a cozy room with a fireplace. Perfect location, close to everything! Highly recommended! I really loved the friendliness of the staff, specifically Sharon, she really makes a difference in your stay, she is so helpful about the area attractions and very nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked a room here after a last minute decision to take our son to Monterey/Carmel for the Memorial holiday weekend. This place is an older facility with a few minor updates in the room. It was a basic room that was clean and served our purpose for one night. However, the guests in the room above us were very noisy. We didn't get to try the breakfast because we had brunch reservations.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Franca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Franca Inn

Address: 900 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Dorado Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independently owned, 15 room inn. We have microwaves and refrigerates, TV's, hair dryers in each room. Our WI-FI is a commercial grade quality. Free parking and a delicious homemade boutique breakfast is included Check in is from 2-10 pm and check out is 11 am. We're 4 blocks from downtown and 9 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. We can order 2-dayAquarium tickets for you online with a valid credit card. For a bit of hominess, come stay with us!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Franca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Franca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.