We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Franca Inn

Save Saved
You added Villa Franca Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Franca Inn
900 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Dorado Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Breakfast To Remember
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Modesto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My daughter and I met my sister and her friend from Oklahoma and shared a room that was ample for all 4 of us. The hostess, Sharon, was so down to earth as well as an excellent cook. We all loved her blueberry/banana muffins. She provided such healthy, nutritional foods for breakfast. We especially enjoyed the fire log in our room. I'm planning on booking a room at this place the next time I come to Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hospitality is over the top! Best breakfast, steel cut oatmeal and home baked muffins. We had a cozy room with a fireplace. Perfect location, close to everything! Highly recommended! I really loved the friendliness of the staff, specifically Sharon, she really makes a difference in your stay, she is so helpful about the area attractions and very nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked a room here after a last minute decision to take our son to Monterey/Carmel for the Memorial holiday weekend. This place is an older facility with a few minor updates in the room. It was a basic room that was clean and served our purpose for one night. However, the guests in the room above us were very noisy. We didn't get to try the breakfast because we had brunch reservations.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The El Dorado Inn at Monterey California was quite an uncomfortable experience. I stayed here in May 2014 with some friends (who made the booking) and while we weren't that impressed when we arrived we were open minded. We appreciated that there was a communal area outside with a table and a liquor store around the corner. So we could play cards and have a cold beer after a long drive up the coast. The good stopped there.

The room was noisey, the AC didn't work, the beds were very uncomfortable and most of the sheets had cigarette burns in them. Although the street was quite noisey we thought that we should open the windows to get some breeze and cool down a little. This didn't help much.

After a hot, stuffy, restless nights sleep the shower facilities were quite welcome but that was about it.

I honestly wouldn't recommend this place and definitely would not return. I'm not usually a fussy guy having travelled extensively in both 1st and 3rd worlds for business and pleasure. I've seen my fair share of dives and unfortunately this was one of them.

Good luck!

Room Tip: Room 6 was our room. It was anything but a pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, Manager at Villa Franca Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am sorry this guest felt his experience with us was less than satisfactory. Had I been informed at the time of his stay, I might have been able to address his concerns to his satisfaction. First of all, we do not have A/C at our inn nor have we ever implied that it is available . With very few exceptions, it would be a waste of resources to have A/C in our units. Even on the night in question, the National Weather Bureau states that the temperature averaged 61 degrees F. We have fans available, upon request, for added comfort..We have complimentary earplugs for any of our guests who are light sleepers or are affected by average street noise.
Our beds are less than a year old and are Sealy Posturpedic, Pillowtop of good quality. Alt the rooms have been renovated, with new decor (except for the dressers and nightstands), new bathrooms. The bedding has been replaced recently, with our deluxe rooms already offering 700 count sheets . We use a reputable, local laundry to wash and iron our linens. I have asked our housekeeper to double-check to make sure all sheets are in good condition and to discard any that are not up to our standards.. All our rooms are non-smoking also.
All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators;
The exterior of our inn has been repainted and the landscaping is in the process of being upgraded. Our walkways will be resurfaced in the next few weeks.
The comfort, cleanliness and safety of our little inn is very important to each of us here at El Dorado Inn, Monterey. Thank you for sharing your concerns,, we value your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This little inn is a fantastic choice for those traveling on a budget. Location is even within a young person's walking distance from cannery row. The innkeeper couldn't be more pleasant and even bakes homemade muffins for breakfast each morning. There's a long string of cheap hotels along this same street, and for the price and hospitality at Eldorado, it can't be beat!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We wound up at the El Dorado Inn after the hotel next door was over booked and they moved us here. Updated bathrooms. Clean rooms. Mattress was ok, but slept comfortable.

The nicest part was the manager who left they keys for us and the light on in our room so we would feel welcome. Met her the next morning...Lovely woman who wanted to make sure you felt welcome. Breakfast was yummy. Amazing home cooked muffins, oatmeal, hard boule eggs, toast, fresh cut fruit and coffee. Felt like I was in a bread and breakfast and not in a motel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This little gem is recently updated and it shows. It's conveniently located and right on the main road. Surprisingly you can hear cars, but didn't really notice it too much. The new owner has done a marvelous job of updating everything in the rooms. Very clean and very nice. Our room upstairs on the corner by the office was spacious enough for 3 adults. We had 3 windows so you didn't feel confined. The room had a fireplace, 2 queen beds, a refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast in the morning was very nice and thoughtfully made. The manager/owner is onhand to help with suggestions and nice conversation, sweet lady. She tried to vary the morning offerings and makes them herself. Her muffins are made in a healthy manor and not too sweet with great ingredients. It's not a big buffet, but a smaller, very adequate offering for your start for the day. You can just take it up to your room. We had breakfast included at the other 3 hotels we stayed at. This was the nicest. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Franca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Franca Inn

Address: 900 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Dorado Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independently owned, 15 room inn. We have microwaves and refrigerates, TV's, hair dryers in each room. Our WI-FI is a commercial grade quality. Free parking and a delicious homemade boutique breakfast is included Check in is from 2-10 pm and check out is 11 am. We're 4 blocks from downtown and 9 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. We can order 2-dayAquarium tickets for you online with a valid credit card. For a bit of hominess, come stay with us!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Franca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Franca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.