We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Monterey

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Monterey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Munras Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I was here for two nights in July 2014 and all was well. My room was clean, I had a fireplace and that was nice.

The staff was friendly. It's REALLY quiet here despite being close to a busy street.

This nice place is close enough to all the usual places you want to see in Monterey. The wifi is ok.

I'll probably be back here in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights. We didn't expect luxury at this budget priced motel, but the bed was very uncomfortable, the wifi didn't reach the rooms, and breakfast was essentially nonexistent - coffee and packaged Danish. The fridge, microwave, coffee maker and gas fireplace are nice, and the bathroom has plenty of room. If breakfast and wifi are advertised, they should be better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was definitely not worth the money

* There are no elevators
* The "breakfast" was awful -- essentially fruit and a basket of prepackaged snacks
* It was a warm day and the room had no AC or fan to vent the humidity of a shower
* The parking spots are very tight
* We had a bad experience with the front desk's customer service

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo,SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Vagabond Inn is a nice clean hotel located in a very convenient neighborwood. We were given a good spacious room with a big confortable bed and a charming fireplace. There is only one major drawback: the room has a big high window with absolutely no curtains. As a consequence, it is very difficult to sleep past 6 AM . Breakfast is taken standing at the recepcion and is a bit too simple.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Very quiet and a great location. Loved the fireplaces in the rooms. Breakfast was okay, not the best. We ended up going to Denny's down the road. Overall, it was a great experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel one night with a friend on our way to a Big Sur roadtrip! At first I was a bit unsure, because I had never heard about "Vagabond Inn" hotels, but we really liked the place.

Location is really convenient, you can easily get "downtown" in 10 mins (lots of restaurants, including a really good one, Montrio!).

Service was good, although we found the breakfast very basic and that could be improved.

Bed was very comfortable. The room is nice, although the one we had felt a bit small (but we didn't mind because we were only there in and out to sleep). Clean and everything!

Would recommend if you're staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vantaa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We choose this Inn totally by accident (there's many to choose from on that street), but were so happy with the experience that can totally recommend the place to everybody. We asked for room prices and got a real nice and big room (with fireplace) for the price we would've paid just for a normal motel room somewhere else. Wifi worked well, service was super friendly and the place was tidy. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Monterey

Address: 1010 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Munras Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Monterey 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Customer Service! Complimentary Breakfast. Free WiFi. Free Parking. Free local calls. We are conveniently located in downtown Monterey. Short distance to the beach, Old Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Shopping and Dining. Outside Sun Deck. Our large spacious rooms include: fireplaces, microwaves, refrigerators, televisions, expanded cable and HBO, iron and ironing boards, alarm clocks, in room telephones, wake up service, personal concierge and more. Some adjoining rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.