We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good,simple hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munras Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Munras Inn to your Saves list
Munras Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Monterey)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Save 15%
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
São Paulo,SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good,simple hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Vagabond Inn is a nice clean hotel located in a very convenient neighborwood. We were given a good spacious room with a big confortable bed and a charming fireplace. There is only one major drawback: the room has a big high window with absolutely no curtains. As a consequence, it is very difficult to sleep past 6 AM . Breakfast is taken standing at the recepcion and is a bit too simple.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Very quiet and a great location. Loved the fireplaces in the rooms. Breakfast was okay, not the best. We ended up going to Denny's down the road. Overall, it was a great experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel one night with a friend on our way to a Big Sur roadtrip! At first I was a bit unsure, because I had never heard about "Vagabond Inn" hotels, but we really liked the place.

Location is really convenient, you can easily get "downtown" in 10 mins (lots of restaurants, including a really good one, Montrio!).

Service was good, although we found the breakfast very basic and that could be improved.

Bed was very comfortable. The room is nice, although the one we had felt a bit small (but we didn't mind because we were only there in and out to sleep). Clean and everything!

Would recommend if you're staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vantaa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We choose this Inn totally by accident (there's many to choose from on that street), but were so happy with the experience that can totally recommend the place to everybody. We asked for room prices and got a real nice and big room (with fireplace) for the price we would've paid just for a normal motel room somewhere else. Wifi worked well, service was super friendly and the place was tidy. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night during a longer journey through the states. A nice and comfortable place. Large rooms that include a fireplace (!), tv, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and free wifi, albeit with a very poor reception! Staff is friendly. Complimentary breakfast is sugar and carb loaded! All in all an ok place though!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel was clean and nice for the price. They need to update their tvs. No air conditioner and for heat they have the fake fireplaces which was cozy. The staff were really very nice. The hotel is not a large one.

Room Tip: This is a prime location so hotels are not cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerot Yitshaq, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the king sized room for one night on our way down highway 1. The room was clean and spacious and it even had a working fireplace!

The breakfast wasn't much. Only fruit and some packaged snacks, but that was more than enough for us. There is also hot water and tea/coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munras Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munras Inn

Address: 1010 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Monterey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Munras Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munras Inn located 2 miles away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, We serve daily continental breakfast and offers guest rooms with free Wi-Fi. Free Parking for guests during their stay. We are conveniently located in downtown Monterey. Short distance to the beach, Old Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Shopping and Dining. Outside Sun Deck. Our large spacious rooms include: fireplaces, microwaves, refrigerators, televisions, expanded cable and HBO, iron and ironing boards, alarm clocks, in room telephones, wake up service, personal concierge and more. Some adjoining rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Munras Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munras Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.