We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs included!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Padre Oaks to your Saves list
Padre Oaks
1.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1278 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bedbugs included!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Motel seemed really nice at first, but when i wanted to have a look at the room before booking the woman just showed me a picture and said that the rooms all look the same way...
Towels weren't really white, breakfast was ridiculous (half a muffin and a banana). But worst of all - i got bedbug bites all over my body! This motel really sucks!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    22
    15
    38
See reviews for
21
45
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

At first we were very pleased with the cottage-feel of this motel. But after returning to our room very late, after the office closed, we discovered the someone from a previous stay had wet the bed and the mattress had not been changed, but just covered with clean sheets. We discovered it because my son laid on the bed to go to sleep and started complaining of the bed feeling wet. No one was in the office at that hour, so we moved him to another bed in the room, and asked at the office the next morning if we could get a discount on the room. The lady was extremely rude and began accusing my son, age 16, of wetting the bed himself! We chose the motel due to it's AAA double-diamond rating, but I would say it is definitely not worth it. The "continental breakfast" was also very minimal, no coffee available, and the ice machine does not work. Don't spend your money here; there are plenty of other nice motels on this street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

HOTEL COUPONS.COM which prints discount brochures available thru out CA. (and the US) had a coupon for this motel, which was valid until 5/15/12. Went there on 5/2/12, as early as 10 AM and they refused to honor. Stated a new brochure was coming out, etc etc. The brochure is for March-May 2012 and even when I pointed out that it stated valid until 5/15/12, she refused to honor the $33.99 price saying cost was $45.00 for a nightly room. Have complained to the publisher (which is in Florida) and Northern California AAA, as their symbol is on the ad and the frontage sign of the motel. So far no response from either entity. Many similiar motels on same block suggest do not patronize this one. A Ramada coupon was honored down the block at a Ramada Motel (from the same brochure, for $45.00).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just stayed there a couple of nights. Room was ok but the staff is extremely rude and unfriendly! The reception lady treats the guests like dirt. They are real crooks too looking for any reason to over charge you. This place should not even be in business. Stay away from it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Looking through the postings, I was kind of surprised to see some mixed reviews for Padre Oaks.

We have been coming to Padre Oaks for years, for a quick weekend escape from San Francisco or along with visiting family/friends - and have never been disappointed!

It's a small, family-run motel with fair rates.
Rooms are spacious, situated around a courtyard and removed far enough from the road for quiet nights, perfect for a good night sleep after a long day exploring Big Sur or hiking in Carmel Valley ...

Location is convenient for both Highway 1 and downtown Monterey
- with a Whole Foods Market located just across the street,
a very convenient stop to grab healthy breakfast and/or to stock up on picnic needs,
before taking off for the day down the coast or in the valley ...
And for very early mornings there is also a Starbucks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

First of all, I arrive to the front desk the gentleman couldn't find my reservation so, he called to his wife I guess both are the manager and she was very rude! we don't have your reservation , so what you can do for me...I picked the phone before she seems like she wasn't doing anything. i called my friend to confirm my reservation and the lady told go outside and talk in your phone I wasn't talking loud well the lady go outside your are interrupting and I asked to who well if someone in the phone and i told her I need to called and confirm my reservation go outside and called she really kit me out of the reception..So, Monday early am thinking to write a big complaint to the City of Monterey...It's not acceptable! I told her your are very rude she answered me I don't care wow!
Finally, I have a nice hospitality in Knights Inn few blocks like if you go back to take 101 north or 1 south. Also, a nice Hindus couples with a nice smile the give a good deals for 7 nights Please, Save your money and look for other hotels like knights Inn nice and clean hotels nice room.

Room Tip: Nice rooms and high speed internet hbo channels in a nice hotel knights Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Not much is good about padre oaks. Pillows are terrible, blankets are thin, staff is rude, parking is aweful, walls are thin, heater is terrible, no ac, internet is slow, breakfast is non exsistant, no complimentary shampoo. Save your time and money and stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: yes do not rent a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Padre Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Oaks

Address: 1278 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Padre Oaks 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Padre Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Oaks Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.