We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, caring staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By The Bay Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn By The Bay Monterey to your Saves list
Inn By The Bay Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   936 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great location, caring staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is located within a walking distance from the centre and to the mall. The room was quite large and attractive with a modern bathroom. It was clean and cosy.
The staff went out of the way to help. It is great is you have a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    104
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
46
90
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and walking distance to amenities. A bit far from main Monterey area... About 30 minutes walk to aquarium and sights.

The room was clean and staff friendly. Not many amenities nor anything special. But it's tastefully decorated and feels perfectly fine. Low maintenance rental with comfortable place to sleep and rest on the coastal drive from San Fran to LA.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Farmer's Market, and Cannery Row. Cannery Row was a bit of a hike, but we needed the walk after all the meals out! Excellent value for the area. We were happy that we chose to stay there over the Carmel area. We had a queen bed with a twin for our college aged daughter. It was a perfect set up. The motel isn't located in the "touristy" area, but served our needs over a much more expensive place right in the middle of things which could have proven noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We loved the spacious room which was clean and the wifi fast and free. The Inn was close to the beach and fisherman's wharf and we loved the 17 mile drive in Pebble Beach. There were wonderful otters and seals galore!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. Rooms were very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The lady at reception was amazing!!! We called up from the visitors centre and she said she would have a room ready for us to check in straight away which was before check in time. She also gave us great advice of what to see and do. I highly recommend this hotel. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha p, Owner at Inn By The Bay Monterey, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review. We take pride in our cleanliness and comfort of stay. We hope you will come stay with us again.

Nisha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

In a good location it is easy to visit carmel and Monterrey. The bed was very big and confortable.
The breackfast wasn't special, but ok. The staff was friendly and helped us with some maps and tips about the big sur and the beatiful 17mile drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious and included a small table and 2 chairs. We had a peek - a - boo view of the Pacific and our room overlooked a yard with pretty landscaping. We were happy to have a small refrigerator in our room. Flower boxes and good parking completed a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#37 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Address: 936 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By The Bay Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.