We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By The Bay Monterey

Save Saved
You added Inn By The Bay Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn By The Bay Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   936 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Bit pricey for a basic room without AC but Monterey isn't known for being cheap. This place is clean and convenient - about 15 minutes walk from Fisherman's Wharf. Had a fridge, decent TV, microwave and the price ($179) included a basic continental breakfast which you picked up and had in your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    74
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
39
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a clean, safe reasonably priced hotel for us and our pup for a couple of nights. The El Adobe Inn in is about a mile away from the wharf and Del Monte Plaza shopping mall. The hotel itself is very simple, no frills but clean and comfortable. Here are some things I thought were worth mentioning.

Pet friendly rooms are on the bottom floor.
The bottom floor rooms face the parking lot. Bring earplugs.
They are pet friendly in the fact that they accept pets but don't extras like bowls or beds.
The rooms don't have air conditioning and can get stuffy quickly. If you open the windows it helps a little but you lose privacy and people walking by can be noisy. They do provide a stand up fan in the room.
Bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap. Theirs was just ok.
The towels are very small and they only had two. Most girls I know use two towels so be sure and ask for an extra if needed.
The breakfast is very basic. Muffins cut into quarters, svengard pastries, bananas and coffee.
Hotel is kind of tucked away and felt safe and secure.
Easy access to hwy 1
Bed was comfortable.
Coffee maker, fridge, microwave provided.
No bathroom fan but it does have a window that opens.
Free wi-fi provided. Be sure and get the password at check in.

I would stay there again but would ask for a room away from the courtyard and ice machine. The location was convenient and I thought the price was good considering the area and that we had our dog.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was a pleasant place, but not worth the money we paid for it. It was the 4th of July weekend so prices were higher than usual (I assume), but it was a nice location close to a lot of places within walking distance. The continental breakfast wasn't anything to write home about - toast, some sort of pastry, orange/apple juice and coffee from machines. When we arrived - our room door was wide open and there was nobody to be found (no cleaning ladies or anyone). Also the pillows were not particularly comfortable and were to tall so my neck was kinked when I woke up.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there was an elevator to get to the second floor so pick the bottom floor if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was very clean, the lady who checked us in was very friendly and let us know about things to do or see if we didn't know. The continental breakfast was just enough for us. We travel to Monterey a couple times a year and this was our first time staying hewre. From now on we'll be staying here when we travel with our dog as it's in a great location and a nice short walk to Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a clean affordable place if you are forced to travel with pets. The owners are friendly and accommodating. Don't expect a luxury room with hot made to order breakfast, but do expect a restful night of sleep.
Its a nice enjoyable 10 minute walk to the wharf so you don't have to fight for parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was clean, had good facilities and nice staff. It was not too far away from the main strip of Monterey and about a 10 minute walk from Fishermans wharf. I was really pleased to stay here. It's got a lovely Mediterranean feel to it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento,ca
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay for a quick trip to Monterey. Hemma, the lady clerk that checked us in, was very pleasant. Not one problem checking in for myself, wife and teenage daughter. This was our first stay here. We have stayed in other places in Monterey, which you can verify by my other reviews. El Adobe Inn is one of my favorites now. Now, this review is for my room only, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was comfortable and clean with no unusual odors. We had two queen beds which were spotless and very comfortable. It was very quiet as well. We had a second floor room. There is no A/C , just a floor stand fan. However, you're in Monterey and you have no need to use an A/C unit. There is no pool as well. I threw that in for info only. We had no problem with that fact. Pictures attached are for the room, breakfast, which is a standard but adequate continental style and view from our balcony. One was taken on a bright day and the other taken the following morning which had coastal fog. I would not hesitate to stay here again! My only complaint is that parking is tight. It is close to everywhere you would like to go. We even took a side trip to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: I believe upstairs seems to be better for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Address: 936 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi and continental breakfast.Rooms with a view of the bay are available. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By The Bay Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.