We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By The Bay Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn By The Bay Monterey to your Saves list
Inn By The Bay Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   936 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Yuba City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We find ourselves in Monterey at least once a year, & we always stay at El Adobe Inn. The rates are very affordable, the Inn is pet friendly and the rooms are clean & comfortable. El Adobe is right across the street from the park, which is great for walking th dog in the morning, & a short walking distance from the mall. The Inn owners are very friendly & remember us each time we stay with them. It's a great place for the price!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    83
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
43
77
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkdale, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The positives are that the location is great and the owners are very nice and accomodating. It is sparkling clean and the gardens are gorgeous.
This place has seen better days. Our first room on the second floor had a sliding glass door instead of a window, but had no screen. This became an issue as there was no climate control, air conditioning or vent and we did not feel secure leaving the door open at night with no screen. The room was too stuffy to sleep. This is a weird situation as the owner aknowledged to having a problem with racoons. There is a masonry wall outside the glass door, quite convenient to wildlife or neighborhood cats.
My request for a room change was accomodated right away- basically the same room but with a screen. It made a huge difference.
When I plugged in the clock radio in both room, the outlets sparked alarmingly.
The room layout is odd with the bathroom counter/sink on the left of the front door and a door to the toilet/tub on the right with a closet rod in between. The sink faucet leaked and the hot and cold were reversed in both rooms.
The room rates seemed a bit arbitrary as well. I overheard a guest extending her stay and the desk clerk told her that her rate would be raised to $134 because it was Friday and the rooms were $10 extra. I was paying $179 for Friday and Saturday, which was $100 more than the weekday rate.
I will say again the the hosts are very nice. It is probably a couple who are doing everything themselves and working very hard at it. It was just a dissappointment after all of the rave reviews.

Room Tip: Look at the room prior to moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Admittedly one of the cheaper options in an expensive town so wasn't expecting quality as seen in other places in America. The people who ran the place were friendly.

The breakfast consisted of some pastries and bread/toast/jam and coffee/'juice' which you could take back to your room where there was a small kitchenette with microwave and your own coffee machine. The Adobe is located within easy reach of the town.

However the walls in the dated room were very thin and a connecting door to neighbouring room meant you could hear every word spoken by neighbour. That's not to say it wasn't good value for money, an excellent motel, but at hotel prices. Wouldn't return, would be tempted to spend a little more per-night for more privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Me and me wife drove down to Monterey for Memorial Day weekend and had a lovely night at the El Adobe Inn. The room was nice and the staff was very helpful. The hotel was close to all the attractions in Monterey and we were able to walk around most of our stay there. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although there is nothing fancy about this place it is a great deal for the price. I stayed at several different area hotels while in Monterey recently and this one was the best deal by a long shot. It's small, very quiet, close to everything but far enough off of the beaten path to be quiet and private. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. My room was very spacious and very comfortable. Everything was very clean and I could sleep very well as it was quiet.I arrived late in the night, check-in was quick and efficient. Breakfast was toast, pastry and coffee - pretty basic, but fine for me. Left my luggage there during the day and could use the free wifi when I went to get the luggage. The manager was very friendly. I would definitely stay there again when in Monterey. Monterey Transit Plaza is 5 minutes away and it took me around 15 minutes to get to the boat for Whale Watching, and to the Aquarium it is also a nice walk (around 25 minutes).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here just for one night in November. We had found the motel through a third party website but not booked online. When we turned up the price quoted was a bit higher than we had seen online but they were happy to match the price we had seen. The room was large and the bed comfortable. Noise was not an issue as it had been at some other motels we stayed at. The owners were friendly and helpful in suggesting places to go. Breakfast was very simple but perfectly adequate and taken back to the room to eat. We found the motel to be good value in a town where motel prices seemed to be generally on the high side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Address: 936 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi and continental breakfast.Rooms with a view of the bay are available. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By The Bay Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.