We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn - Monterey to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn - Monterey
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2041 Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked on line and didn't know what to expect. Our room 104 was fine, and our friends in room 107 had a similar room. Both rooms were clean and nicely decorated.There was a table and two chairs in both rooms and we managed a game of bridge bringing one chair from our room. Check in was fast and the free coffee in the morning a bonus. Only drawbacks were a very slow wifi, although it was free, and we couldn't use the microwave as we didn't bring cups. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms and they all seemed similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    11
    9
    26
See reviews for
7
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I decided to stay here based on the great rate I was offered through Choice.com. It was a last minute trip so I wasn't looking for luxury. Check-in was fast and fairly friendly.
Parking was tight but the lot was well lit and seemed safe.
I was given room 103 and boy was I shocked when I walked in! This room was very small. It had some great amenities, like a fridge, microwave, table and chairs and of course a t.v. The only problem was it was all crammed into a tiny space! There was literally no room to walk between the t.v. and bed. I did not complain or switch due to the fact I only needed the room to sleep a few hours and shower. It did seem fairly clean with the exception of trash I found on the restroom floor. All in all it was good stay and only seconds to the freeway that takes you to the aquarium and other area attractions.

I will return but will ask for a room with more room. A small continental breakfast was offered but I missed it however, the area looked very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We're familiar Rodeway Inns, and aware they're at the lower end of Choice Hotels, but we never felt so unwelcome. During check in, there was no greetings or pleasentaries, just your keys handed to you. FYI, Ice is 25 cent for your little bucket, extra coffee for room is a $1.00 and no sugar or cream in the room. Internet almost non-existent (not secured and weak.) Our room smells like some kind of cleaner, maybe that's why we noticed unoccupied rooms have the window (and curtain) open. Our sink faucet was trickling when we first arrived, then stop, then trickle and so on. We just wanted coffee for (so called) breasfast and was told it was 7:30-10 AM. Around 8 am, the door still lock. I called, and was told in "about 5-10 minutes more."
There's no closet or cabinet, just a rail with hangers. If these things don't bother you, then you have a decent room and comfortable bed at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a roadtrip down the coast. We have stayed in Rodeway Inns before and always found them good. This place was a bit of a joke though. The wallpaper in our room was peeling in a massive patch, kind of hanging over the bed. Theres no way the cleaning staff wouldn't have seen that when doing their rounds.
The "breakfast" was an absolute joke! Just disgusting processed food in packets. No breakfast room to eat them at. We took a couple of bites and threw them away and bought breakfast on the way. Foul. Even the juice was disgusting, didn't try the coffee. Glad it was only for one night, but next time we will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at Rodeway Inns before and found them reasonable and certainly not expensive. Usually older and often a little tired, but have offered a comfortable bed at a good price. This motel filled those criteria although possibly towards the lower end of the scale. The lighting was dull in fact one light didn't work, the walls were dirty (cobwebs and dust visible on the rendered surface) and included breakfast was a cookie and brewed coffee, (we brought our own breakfast). having said that, the bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. It certainly wasn't the hilton, but if you only want a place to sleep, for the price paid it was OK. We didn't notice any prolems with linen as referred to in some other reviews

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we confirm opinions about the manager: extremely rude and unprofessional. The room was big but smelly, the location is far from the centre, on a busy and noisy main road. Breakfast is not a breakfast. If you came to Monterey in the night and you decide to stop, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Omg! Terrible! The worst ever experience of my life! Blood on the sheet, burn holes all over the blankets, counter, and microwave. A hole in the ceiling with a shop light hooked up. The room was not even secure enough to leave our belongings in while we were out. White streaks of ...something all over shower curtain. Dirty every where. This room is not even okay if it was free... Terrible management!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn - Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Address: 2041 Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn - Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.