We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grotty. Worst Rodeway Inn I have experienced.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn - Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Monterey
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2041 Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 13 Monterey B&B and Inns
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Grotty. Worst Rodeway Inn I have experienced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a roadtrip down the coast. We have stayed in Rodeway Inns before and always found them good. This place was a bit of a joke though. The wallpaper in our room was peeling in a massive patch, kind of hanging over the bed. Theres no way the cleaning staff wouldn't have seen that when doing their rounds.
The "breakfast" was an absolute joke! Just disgusting processed food in packets. No breakfast room to eat them at. We took a couple of bites and threw them away and bought breakfast on the way. Foul. Even the juice was disgusting, didn't try the coffee. Glad it was only for one night, but next time we will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    9
    8
    24
See reviews for
5
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at Rodeway Inns before and found them reasonable and certainly not expensive. Usually older and often a little tired, but have offered a comfortable bed at a good price. This motel filled those criteria although possibly towards the lower end of the scale. The lighting was dull in fact one light didn't work, the walls were dirty (cobwebs and dust visible on the rendered surface) and included breakfast was a cookie and brewed coffee, (we brought our own breakfast). having said that, the bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. It certainly wasn't the hilton, but if you only want a place to sleep, for the price paid it was OK. We didn't notice any prolems with linen as referred to in some other reviews

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we confirm opinions about the manager: extremely rude and unprofessional. The room was big but smelly, the location is far from the centre, on a busy and noisy main road. Breakfast is not a breakfast. If you came to Monterey in the night and you decide to stop, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Omg! Terrible! The worst ever experience of my life! Blood on the sheet, burn holes all over the blankets, counter, and microwave. A hole in the ceiling with a shop light hooked up. The room was not even secure enough to leave our belongings in while we were out. White streaks of ...something all over shower curtain. Dirty every where. This room is not even okay if it was free... Terrible management!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I strongly recommend anyone considering to stay here not to. The worst part of this place is the manager. He is extremely rude and unprofessional. He tended towards his own tasks before serving me. The non smoking room I got smelt of smoke and there was cupboard drawers left on the floor for some reason. 2nd room I got the TV did not work. I decided not to try for a 3rd room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

stayed hear a few years ago but after this stay won't stay again. Beds have the cheapest mattress you could buy. Front desk folks act like it's their first day on the job. If you come in the warm weather make sure you ask for a room where the ac works...most don't. Interior is 2 grades below budget. No double locks on the room I stayed in. No in room coffeee. Suprised Choice hotels is still associated with this hotel

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Electrical nightmare. Octopus plugs. Dirty walls. Fuses blew. Puddles of floating beer cans. No coffee in one room. No coffee or coffee maker in the other. Manager got TV working but unplugged fridge. Lost food in fridge as it warmed overnight. Office still closed at 10 to 8 a.m. when we left. No breakfast to be found - although part of room price.

Room Tip: Lots of choices on this hotel row - if they are not booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn - Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Also Known As:
Monterey Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Monterey
Address: 2041 Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Monterey 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn - Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.