We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grotty. Worst Rodeway Inn I have experienced.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn - Monterey to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn - Monterey
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2041 Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Grotty. Worst Rodeway Inn I have experienced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a roadtrip down the coast. We have stayed in Rodeway Inns before and always found them good. This place was a bit of a joke though. The wallpaper in our room was peeling in a massive patch, kind of hanging over the bed. Theres no way the cleaning staff wouldn't have seen that when doing their rounds.
The "breakfast" was an absolute joke! Just disgusting processed food in packets. No breakfast room to eat them at. We took a couple of bites and threw them away and bought breakfast on the way. Foul. Even the juice was disgusting, didn't try the coffee. Glad it was only for one night, but next time we will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    12
    9
    26
See reviews for
7
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at Rodeway Inns before and found them reasonable and certainly not expensive. Usually older and often a little tired, but have offered a comfortable bed at a good price. This motel filled those criteria although possibly towards the lower end of the scale. The lighting was dull in fact one light didn't work, the walls were dirty (cobwebs and dust visible on the rendered surface) and included breakfast was a cookie and brewed coffee, (we brought our own breakfast). having said that, the bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. It certainly wasn't the hilton, but if you only want a place to sleep, for the price paid it was OK. We didn't notice any prolems with linen as referred to in some other reviews

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we confirm opinions about the manager: extremely rude and unprofessional. The room was big but smelly, the location is far from the centre, on a busy and noisy main road. Breakfast is not a breakfast. If you came to Monterey in the night and you decide to stop, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Omg! Terrible! The worst ever experience of my life! Blood on the sheet, burn holes all over the blankets, counter, and microwave. A hole in the ceiling with a shop light hooked up. The room was not even secure enough to leave our belongings in while we were out. White streaks of ...something all over shower curtain. Dirty every where. This room is not even okay if it was free... Terrible management!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I strongly recommend anyone considering to stay here not to. The worst part of this place is the manager. He is extremely rude and unprofessional. He tended towards his own tasks before serving me. The non smoking room I got smelt of smoke and there was cupboard drawers left on the floor for some reason. 2nd room I got the TV did not work. I decided not to try for a 3rd room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

stayed hear a few years ago but after this stay won't stay again. Beds have the cheapest mattress you could buy. Front desk folks act like it's their first day on the job. If you come in the warm weather make sure you ask for a room where the ac works...most don't. Interior is 2 grades below budget. No double locks on the room I stayed in. No in room coffeee. Suprised Choice hotels is still associated with this hotel

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Electrical nightmare. Octopus plugs. Dirty walls. Fuses blew. Puddles of floating beer cans. No coffee in one room. No coffee or coffee maker in the other. Manager got TV working but unplugged fridge. Lost food in fridge as it warmed overnight. Office still closed at 10 to 8 a.m. when we left. No breakfast to be found - although part of room price.

Room Tip: Lots of choices on this hotel row - if they are not booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn - Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Address: 2041 Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn - Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.