We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lone Oak Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
2221 North Fremont St, near Della Vine Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basic but value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Accomodation good but basic. Could park right outside room. 5 minutes drive from sea front but good for local restaurants. No breakfast but Dennys nearby. Sauna available. Value for money and certainly ok for 2 nights.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy that your stay was a pleasant one and we hope to see you again in the future. Just to make a note for the future, for breakfast there is also a Black Bear Diner and The Breakfast Club. On weekends, the Monterey Cook House serves breakfast. All three are great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    107
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
77
88
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Ok, so this is not the greatest place in the world, but it had a couple of things going for it: Great price for the area. In particular, we always stay in "room 34", that's what the hotel refers to it. Place is much larger then our first apartment. I think it's an old manager's apartment. I has master bedroom, dining room, full kitchen, living room with 2 futons and another queen bed, and full size bathroom with duel sinks. We've stayed there 2, fitting 2 families with 4 adults and 4 kids (2 kids per futon). Having the full kitchen is really nice for the families. Kids also enjoyed the dry sauna and hot tub. Definitely invokes visions of classic American motel. If you stay 3 nights, the 4th is free! Property also has 1-2 bedroom cottages with mini-kitchens.

Room Tip: Families should look into "Room 34" or one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Lone Oak Lodge. I'm happy that you and your family had a nice stay with us. We hope that you may have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This motel is located along a fairly busy street with other motels and a Denny's. so don't expect stunning oceanside views or Godiva chocolates on the pillow. With that said, it's a clean and affordable place to sleep. We rented a couple of rooms plus two cabins. The cabins were generously sized, having two bedrooms and a kitchen. One of the bedrooms had a queen sized bed and led to the bathroom. The other bedroom had twin beds and a gas powered fireplace. The kitchen included the basics; fridge, range, microwave, sink, and a round table. This allows for a family of four to be comfortably set up and to self-cater.
I thought the rooms were pleasant and clean. The decor was a little dated, but that's kind of typical for a roadside motel. The mattresses had some kind of a pillow top on them, making them quite soft and plushy. I personally prefer a firmer mattress, so it wasn't perfect for me, but some people may like that plush top.
There is a Safeway supermarket about .4 miles down the road, so if self-catering is your thing, it's a good setup. There is also a produce market about 1-2 blocks down the road.
The staff was quite friendly and they were accommodating at check in and check out.
The sauna and the hot tub were a nice addition, open until 10pm. Both sauna and tub were super hot, so make sure you cool down in the attached shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for new years eve, with some friends and family, Rooms where nice and clean, had a king room with fireplace, Great deal AAA discount, booked easily on booking.com.
Will repeat!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review!!!!

Hope you have a fantastic New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place was simple, yet clean. Close to all of Monterey attractions and affordable for family. Had a good deal with Monterey Aquarium 2 day package. Was a throw back to the good old motoring days we had as kids. Sign says not to fill cooler with their ice, but as many stopping for just a night or two and eating food brought, they should take the sign down. All in all....GOOD!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of the Lone Oak. During the Summer months, the Lodge is a very busy place! The signs on the ice machines are there for a reason. While we have 2 large capacity ice machines on the property, several guests filling up ice chests and 46 other guests wanting ice for their room is too much for the machines. You don't realize how much ice it takes to fill an ice chest. It's a constant drain on the machines that time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I traveled to Monterey for a dive trip and my instructor recommended this motel. Even without the diver discount, their published rate was lower than any other similar motel I could find in Monterey. The Lone Oak Inn caters to divers, offering a dive gear rinse area and heavy duty hooks outside every room to dry your wetsuit. The furniture and decor is a little dated (early 1970's) but everything is incredibly clean and well taken care of. This will be our new regular Monterey spot!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! Hope to see you soon on your next dive trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Calif.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There were three of us in a 2 bedroom cottage, it was perfect, very clean, quiet, had everything we needed. We felt like we were in our own little home. Staff very friendly, parking right in front, very convenient to Carmel, Monterey sites. Loved it.

Room Tip: The ones back from the street are probably quieter and the cottages are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. The Cottages are really nice, cute and cozy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Address: 2221 North Fremont St, near Della Vine Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Oak Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;