We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not say the best service from front desk.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2227 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would not say the best service from front desk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I travel from the east coast in which this hotel is very popular. Since I was visiting I thought to come here. I called first before I arrived just to make sure they had rooms available. The man that answered seem kind of rude and agitated. When I arrived he asked me to write a review. As for the service it was poor, the rooms were spacious & very clean. The location is awesome, near the beach and lots of food restaurants. I wouldn't recommend those that have cell phones with ridiculous service because I had none. I had to constantly walk outside to my car to talk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are greatly appreciated that you wanted to share your thoughts about your experience staying with us. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and the big space of the room. My housekeeping staff works very hard everyday to make sure that each room is cleaned properly. We sincerely apologize if you did not experience the best possible guest service. We always try to work hard to improve our guest service and that is something that we can improve everyday. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the property, as it is very convenient for all of our guests. Also, we are sorry to hear that you did not receive any cell phone service, but we never had that issue with any of our guests before. We do want to give you the best possible guest service, so we want to make our adjustments and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    64
    43
    17
    14
See reviews for
69
88
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

great service at check in.
location is a bit far from the monterey attractions but fine if you have a car.
beds had blankets with cigarette burns. sheets were threadbare on my bed. room smelled of urinal disinfectant. only 2 skinny pillows per double bed. power button on tv remote didn't work.
No hot water available on the evening we got there although it was on again for the morning.
stayed in room 215 and checked out after 1 night as it was unacceptable for a hotel to be this shabby in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please let me revise my previous response as follows:

Your reservation was paid by Travelocity for two nights. The next morning, you were asking Neil (GM) that you were not planning on staying and were asking for a refund. He advised you to go through the travel agent, as you were not paying us directly. You did not mention any issues during the conversation with Neil, so we assumed that everything was fine and you had no issues as you left happily.

For your information, this hotel is 100% smoke free facility, so we should not have any issues about any cigarette burns anywhere. All of our linens come through Mission Linen Supply, and so far we never had any issues with any linens. The rooms are 100% renovated including furniture, carpet, paint, drapes, bedding and this is also a non-pet room. So there should not be any issues about the smell of urine. I am not sure if these issues came from you, because you may not have received a second night refund from the travel agent. We made an attempt to reach out to you to discuss this matter. Unfortunately, we did not have any contact information including an email.

SORRY,,, but please feel free to contact us if you have any concerns or if you want to discuss any further information and we will be more than happy to talk to you.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I decided to use the hotel because of the location, but after we arrived I was glad we chose it. The staff was friendly and the room were great! My family loved the room, especially the jacuzzi. The beds were super comfortable and the room was huge. I was really impressed, it almost felt like home. I would definitely encourage any family to make this their stop if they are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely happy that you considered our hotel and gave us that perfect rating that we are always trying to achieve. We are located in an amazing location for our guests so that they can enjoy the city with their friends and family. We are glad that you enjoyed the jacuzzi in our family suite. The family suite is our largest room in the facility with an approximate area of 700 square feet, so we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the space. Please do refer us to your friends and family and we would love for you to come back and enjoy your stay with us again.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights here. Our room was a great size and had all the facilities you needed. Excellent customer service and very accommodating. I asked for a special request and they went above and beyond. It's located close to Safeway and 5min to the wharf.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Elliot,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to hear that you chose us out of everybody in town. My staff works extremely hard and always wants to put a smile on each and every guests face when they walk through that front door. We always want to fulfill our guests special requests, because it makes them happy and makes them realize that we want to take care of their every need. Please refer us to your friends and family and we would love to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff was beyond wonderful accommodating us on one of the busiest weekends of the year! Stayed in the family suite and it was awesome! Would reccomend our friends and families for sure! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

WOW!!!, what can we say but express our utmost gratitude to you for leaving a perfect review. It's a tremendous joy for my entire staff after getting a awesome feedback from you. We are really working super hard to make The Red Roof INN one of the hidden gems and best values to stay in Monterey and reviews like yours really capture our efforts.

Thank You! We'd love to host you again. Next time book directly with us at redroofinnmonterey.com and find our LOWEST RATES!)
Again we appreciate your time and efforts, and requesting you to spread out the words to others. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the family suites, and for the price it was a great value. The staff was very friendly and made us feel appreciated for staying. Next time I come to Monterey I will make sure and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hear that you have given us a perfect rating based on your experience staying with us. We value all of our guests and we want to make sure that we give them the best accommodation needs as possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the family suite. It is our largest room, which is roughly about 700 square feet so there is plenty of room for you to enjoy. We hope that you took advantage of our amazing hot tub as well. We would love for you to come back and enjoy your stay with us. We always want our guests to come back after their first stay. Please refer us to your friends and family and we would love to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have traveled here many times staying in a different hotel each time. Next time I will stay here again. The service was fast, polite, and genuine. Amazing, the room looked just like the photos on the website. The room even smelled nice when opening the door. The below terrible rating for the fitness center is due to having no fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Susan,

We greatly appreciate that you gave us a perfect rating based on your experience staying with us. We are honored that out of all the places you have stayed in Monterey, you would choose us again and we appreciate that. We always want to our guests to come back for an amazing stay and we definitely want you to stay with us again. My staff does an amazing job of giving the best service. Customers are the number one priority to us and they are always important. We always like to keep our rooms clean and smelling fresh. The housekeeping staff works very hard everyday to make sure that each and every guest will enjoy their room. Please refer us to your friends and family and we would love for you to come back in the future.

Thanks

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Address: 2227 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, it's easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 newly renovated rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, a jetted spa tub, a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. We also offer a seasonal continental breakfast, primarily during the summer months. Experience our complimentary coffee-house style coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.