We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like a bed and breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colton Inn

Save Saved
You added Colton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Burns Harbor, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It feels like a bed and breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I really wanted to stay on the waterfront in Monterey but the prices were astronomical! The Colton Inn was a Hotwire pick for me and I'll be honest, I wasn't looking forward to it. Thankfully, it was very nice on the exterior and the staff were friendly. Our room was really large, we were on the first floor so no balcony, but a lot of room to spread out. The only downside was the beds were really low to the floor and while they were comfortable, they were just plain odd and really need a new box spring or something to lift them up higher. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms = big plus!
A free breakfast in the morning was nice and there was a good assortment. We discovered the back deck and sat with a lovely couple from England to enjoy our meal. We were visited by a beautiful blue bird and felt like we were a million miles away from any major town. This is a nice hotel, quaint, definitely more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel and easier on the budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    122
    53
    12
    14
See reviews for
87
125
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved our stay here. Good sized room, clean and a 5 minute walk to downtown Monterey. John on reception gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. Nice touch with some extra freebies....coffee, tea, pastries and fruit for everyone, loan of DVDs to watch films if you wanted (there is tv in the room). Also Fridge, and microwave in room. Great breakfast. Monterey a nice little stopover. Highly recommend this motel at a price that won't break the bank!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well positioned, decent sized rooms, easy parking and free buffet breakfast. If you are expecting Marriott standards you may well be disappointed. Free wi-fi which was quick and easy to access - and even in bedrooms.
Great value for money
Negatives - the morning staff / manager when we check out were brusk, bordering on rude, which was not the norm we had from other establishments

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved being within walking distance to downtown restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf, and the walking path along the water is less than a mile away. With a car, Del Monte mall is 5 mins away. The inn provides free parking and wifi, continental breakfast had bagels with cream cheese or peanut butter, danish, cold cereal, bananas, milk and juices, and a couple other items. The king size room with a fire place was clean. Bed was comfortable. Had a small fridge, and microwave, and a small balcony. The room had a vanity sink separate from the sink in the bathroom. Don't know if that is in every room. If that is important to you, you should inquire when booking. Overall, convenient location, quiet, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice big roorms with balcony which is unusual in USA. Friendly staff they did explain us everything. The breakfast is in the reception and you have to take everything and go back to your rooms. The rooms are big and have a nice table so that was even nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Well maintained Motel not too far from the centre of Monterey.
Reception efficient. Parking easy.
Room spacy but bland. Bathroom same.
Quality of sleep OK.
If you are just looking for a place to sleep - this place is probably perfect. If you are looking for a place to stay and enjoy you may want to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A bit of a walk to the main areas in Monterrey but that's fine (i.e. quieter, much less expensive). Nice, large rooms, very comfortable. We only stayed one night but I would be fine here for a few more if needed. Staff was very friendly. Didn't bother with the breakfast (muffins, coffee), went out instead. Didn't get to the patio, which looked good. Overall, a good place to hunker down for the night while we walked around Monterrey for a couple days that is much cheaper than most hotels in California.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.