We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colton Inn to your Saves list
Colton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well positioned, decent sized rooms, easy parking and free buffet breakfast. If you are expecting Marriott standards you may well be disappointed. Free wi-fi which was quick and easy to access - and even in bedrooms.
Great value for money
Negatives - the morning staff / manager when we check out were brusk, bordering on rude, which was not the norm we had from other establishments

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    155
    74
    20
    20
See reviews for
123
164
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved being within walking distance to downtown restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf, and the walking path along the water is less than a mile away. With a car, Del Monte mall is 5 mins away. The inn provides free parking and wifi, continental breakfast had bagels with cream cheese or peanut butter, danish, cold cereal, bananas, milk and juices, and a couple other items. The king size room with a fire place was clean. Bed was comfortable. Had a small fridge, and microwave, and a small balcony. The room had a vanity sink separate from the sink in the bathroom. Don't know if that is in every room. If that is important to you, you should inquire when booking. Overall, convenient location, quiet, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice big roorms with balcony which is unusual in USA. Friendly staff they did explain us everything. The breakfast is in the reception and you have to take everything and go back to your rooms. The rooms are big and have a nice table so that was even nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Well maintained Motel not too far from the centre of Monterey.
Reception efficient. Parking easy.
Room spacy but bland. Bathroom same.
Quality of sleep OK.
If you are just looking for a place to sleep - this place is probably perfect. If you are looking for a place to stay and enjoy you may want to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A bit of a walk to the main areas in Monterrey but that's fine (i.e. quieter, much less expensive). Nice, large rooms, very comfortable. We only stayed one night but I would be fine here for a few more if needed. Staff was very friendly. Didn't bother with the breakfast (muffins, coffee), went out instead. Didn't get to the patio, which looked good. Overall, a good place to hunker down for the night while we walked around Monterrey for a couple days that is much cheaper than most hotels in California.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the best value hotel in our 3 week American trip and we loved it. It is located in a quiet area of town, but within 5 minutes walk of an excellent supermarket. No problems with parking at any time during our stay, although that the hotel had full occupancy at the time. Our family room was spacious and clean, with large windows making it bright and cheery. Staff were friendly and welcoming and we really appreciated the generous provision of cookies, fruit and hot drinks in the evening. Breakfast included bagels, pastries, oatmeal, cereal, toast and fruit - we were able to serve ourselves, then sit on the attractive deck to eat.
Our only problem was the inadequate plumbing which caused our toilet to block up - the staff were very apologetic and sent maintenance to sort it out immediately.
Overall, a really positive experience - not sure how the hotel manages to offer such reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel was okay, it was clean and roomy with a King bed and a sofa, dining table with chairs and a refrigerator. We had room 106 and it had a musty smell to it, but aired out quickly when we opened the doors for a cross breeze. Smell is possibly due to the awesome jacuzzi tub sitting on the attached enclosed patio. The jacuzzi isn't huge, but nice and relaxing after driving 3 hours. This is not a new hotel, as is the norm for Monterey so don't expect anything fancy. The front desk was helpful and everything was in order when we arrived, making check-in easy and quick. Breakfast is actually in the small lobby where you check in so you will be bringing your food back to your room to eat it. It is toast, bagels, fruit, cereal, oatmeal and coffee. No protein that we saw. Only negative is no in-room coffee :(. I would stay again though, just for the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#32 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#5 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.