We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colton Inn

Save Saved
You added Colton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We are a family who stayed at the Colton inn for one night, We had a good time, the rooms were clean and spacious, the beds comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. A few days after we had checked out a family member lost his jacket at the hotel. The hotel then sent us the jacket to the next hotel we were staying on on our roadtrip. We were very grateful for the great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    126
    52
    12
    13
See reviews for
83
122
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Clean, good sized rooms. We stayed 4 nights. Close to fisherman's wharf, cannery row, and shopping area. We drove around the area, and out to Big Sur. Breakfast is included, but is a little wanting, and needed to be topped up with some good coffee just a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is well worth staying at. Price was good for the location and the rooms were good. We certainly would stay here again on another visit. Quite location. Complentary basic breakfast is available though we did not use it, but it was okay. It is not out in the motel row as some are, so is moderately well placed if you decided to walk down to the main street and wharf area. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly and the room was well presented and a good size. The motel is conveniently located a short walk from the center of Monterey (5-10 mins) and Cannery Row (20 mins). Our only issue was occasionally noise levels, the walls are not particularly well sound proofed but not such a big issue that we would be prevented from choosing this motel in the future. Arrangements for breakfast are unusual but the selection is perfectly adequate to get you going in the morning.
All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the Colton Inn to anyone traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the main road and may be noisier, we had a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Within walking distance of the wharf, great value at a government rate, very friendly check in, cookies and coffee. Room was clean if utilitarian, and quiet, so good for a business trip. Free parking and wireless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the Colton Inn around 9pm and was immediately welcomed with friendly and helpful service from a clerk named John. He explained this to us like places to eat in the area and things that the hotel had to offer like free movies, snacks like fruit and cookies, free parking, and free continental breakfast.

The cookies were GOOD and the breakfast was more than enough. The dvd list is extensive but we didn't take advantage of that.

The room that we were given was rather large. Did not expect that for the rate that we paid. And it's rather nice. A LOT of open space but a good amount of furniture too. Really nice. My one gripe with the room was that the toilet flushing system was rather weak.

The next morning another gentleman in the office helped us get a 2 days for the price of one deal for the aquarium. And just like John, he was pretty awesome too.

We had a lovely stay at the Colton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, Clean comfortable rooms and continental breakfast, There is a fire which is easily lit. No air conditioning but as the temp was mild we did not need it, short walk to the bars and shops

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.