We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Merritt House Inn to your Saves list
Merritt House Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   386 Pacific Ave., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in Monterey at the Merritt Inn during a coastal drive from San Fran to LA. Very accommodating family run inn. The rooms have all the essentials, are comfortable and have a lot of character, just what you're looking for if you're from out of town and only staying a short time. On site parking, free wi-fi, breakfast and walking distance to wharf 1, spot on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    59
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
81
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband over Labor Day weekend. The location could not have been more perfect. Once we parked the car, we never had to get in it again until we were ready to head home. It was a 2 min walk to Alvarado Street (fantastic restaurants), 5 min to Fisherman's Wharf and 5 min to the free trolley to Cannery Row and the Aquarium or an easy and beautiful 1-mile walk along the water.

Our room was cozy and had a fireplace and bathrobes, which I thought was a nice touch. The bed was super comfortable and everything was very clean.

While it's not a typical B&B breakfast, they had everything I needed to fill up for a morning at the Aquarium.

The staff was incredibly pleasant and they also let us keep our car parked there for free for about 5 hours after we checked out. Next time I'm in Monterey, I will definitely stay at the Merritt House Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Merritt House Inn on our way down the coast. We'd hoped for two nights at the Monterey Plaza Hotel, but they had a 4-night stay requirement during the Concours d'Elegance, so we booked the Merritt House.

We've stayed at lots of B&Bs in the US and the UK & Ireland, so we know they can be quirky - that's part of their charm. We had a suite in the historic building, and our kids had a room across the courtyard in another building. They thought their room, with two queen beds, was comfortable, even if the bathroom was claustrophobic.

Our suite had more of the feel of a half-basement, as every building around us was well above us. The decor was dark but interesting. The bathroom was early 70s but quite functional. The smell, however, was pure mildew. We've rented lots of beach apts & houses, so we can put up with a little bit of wet-towel smell, but this was overwhelming - enough to keep me awake during the night.

Breakfast was a big disappointment - the old-fashioned "continental breakfast." Some bagels, danishes, cereal, apples & oranges, cheap yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. There was no cinnamon or brown sugar for the plain oatmeal, no melons or berries, meats or cheese or anything interesting. There are only 3 tables, and all were occupied when we arrived.

Naturally, we weren't expecting the Monterey Plaza. But we were hoping for quite a bit more from this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The location of this Inn cannot be beat. Easy access to the free trolley that runs during the Summer and it was less than a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the "downtown strip". The room was very dark and "tired" and the bathrooms are definitely in need of an upgrade. I only went in to the breakfast room one day - it was very small - certainly not enough room for my family and the selection was limited. I got a coffee to go but it was not very good so we opted to breakfast at the Starbucks around the corner. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean but overall for the price, I didn't think it was very good value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent two comfortable nights: very good bed, quiet room (the noisiest neighbors were the seagulls), very good shower, no charge for parking as another reviewer had. The breakfast is not up to better hotel or usual B&B standards however: nothing hot, hard-boiled egg only, no toaster or microwave, limited fruit offering, coffee just okay and in small cups. Didn't try the TV as we were so busy exploring Monterey; the Merritt is in a great central location for that! An easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf or the commercial wharf, to pick up the Monterey Coastal path, to catch the free municipal "trolley car" to take you to the Aquarium or Cannery Row if you don't want to walk. Also close to interesting restaurants and bars, the conference center, the old Presidio area, Customs House, museums, etc. Fran at the front desk was very helpful with recommendations and directions. Be sure you pick up the city map--the old streets of Monterey and Pacific Grove can be confusing!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer motel/condo section, didn't find it objectionable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived around 8pm and this was the first downtown motel we stopped at. edmund was on duty very nice and helpful. first room we had the door was broken glad we moved it had no desk and an old tv. next room was better but toilet moved which was interesting!
TV has three remotes and unclear instructions also fire place instructions say "just light me" but like others have said ni brick to light.
breakfast is basic motel food hard eggs bread pastries fruit yogurt nothing wrong with it.
This is an older motel with some charm but if you like four star and above then not a good option.
It's in the main road and we were woken by the rubbish truck each morning but it's a great location for walking to downtown and Fishermans Wharf. we were not charged for parking and found all staff to be friendly. i would probably not stay here again but wouldn't say don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed one night traveling south on Hgw 1. Would've stayed longer had it not been so ridiculously expensive just being an Inn. The service was kind and the rooms were more of a charming and clean motel style than the historic styke implied. Location good. Walking distance to the sea and downtown. Breakfast adequate but breakfast room was way too small and many guest had to sit outside. Luckily the weather was good. Free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#33 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Address: 386 Pacific Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merritt House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.