We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little basic but had a Good nights sleep.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Monterey Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A little basic but had a Good nights sleep.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel and it's rooms are basic. When I say basic, I don't mean bad just a simple hotel that gives you what you need.
I found the hotel and room (ground floor) to be clean and very comfortable. The room had everything including mini refrigerator, microwave oven and free in room wifi.
The bed was comfortable and had a great nights sleep.
This hotel would be great for families.
The hotel is located an easy 5-10min walk to shops, cafes and good restaurants. We went to Denny's which is a few doors down the road from the hotel. Really good meals, very inexpensive and top notch service.
Overall I would stay at this hotel if in Monteray in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the your positive comments as well as your suggestions. Our staff continuously strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all of our guests. I was happy to hear that you found great value in your stay and we hope you return to the Monterey area and the Days Inn Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    179
    102
    29
    34
See reviews for
112
170
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Amazing value!! Microwave, LARGE mini fridge, flat screen TV, coffee maker, iron and ironing board etc. Tile bathroom floor. Plus an awesome continental breakfast. Room was clean. Bed was comfy. Front desk staff pleasant and efficient. Great location. All for an amazingly low price. We'll go back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the your positive comments as well as your suggestions. Our staff continuously strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all of our guests. I was happy to hear that you found great value in your stay and we hope you return to the Monterey area and the Days Inn Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the scheduled stops on our tour of the west coast. The location is good and within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and the seafront. However the rooms in the annexe across the road are somewhat tired. They were ok for a one night stay but the air-con did not work in either of the two rooms we and our friends had(and looked like it had not for. While). Our friends asked for a fan and were told to open the windows - not really a solution.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Although we would not characterize our guest rooms as old and wore out, room decor varies from hotel to hotel we understand that it may not always meet the taste of all guests. Judging from the countless reviews that past guest have left especially about our ocean view rooms, a large majority have not only been pleased but have expressed great comfort and happiness with their stay and in their review of the Monterey Days Inn. We are continuously striving to improve the guest experience and will use your comments to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel does not pretend to be anything else than what it is, a budget hotel. It is a motel with basic facilities but it is clean and the rooms are spacious. The complimentary breakfast is basic but it does get you started. The hotel is twenty minutes walk away from Fisherman's Wharf which is a typical seaside tourist trap. Better to catch the free shuttle bus to Cannery Row where it is a bit more sophisticated. Whist there you must visit the outstanding aquarium and have lunch overlooking the sea. I would also recommend a whale watching trip using the marine biological trip from Fisherman's Wharf. Make sure you bring warm clothing especially if you go on the 5.30 trip.

Room Tip: Avoid a room close to the road as it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the to post your experience about your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were happy to hear that our hotel and its facilities met your needs and satisfaction. We were happy to hear that you were able to take in the many beautiful sights and sounds that Monterey has to oiffer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed in the new annex with sea views for 1 night as we passed through from LA to SF.
Great location, short walk to fishermans wharf and bars\eateries.
Rooms could do with an update but for the price i wouldn't complain.
Only complaint is the shower heads are fixed at about 5ft so me being 6ft tall meant an uncomfortable showering experience.
Wished we had time to stay linnet though as 1 night in monterey didn't do it justice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Monterey Days Inn. We appreciate your many positive comments about our location, clean rooms, friendly staff, and grounds. Many of guests have shared in your opinion and we always appreciate when these comments are reinforced. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they work hard to provide each guest with a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We drove from Albuquerque to Monterey and stayed at this hotel. The room was very large with a pretty comfortable king size bed. We also had an ocean view. It is an older hotel that could use a facelift and fixing, but for the location and price was perfect for our trip. I actually enjoyed the noise of the seals, seagulls and the naval academy trumpet every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monterey Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.