We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what it is. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Monterey Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for what it is. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed in the new annex with sea views for 1 night as we passed through from LA to SF.
Great location, short walk to fishermans wharf and bars\eateries.
Rooms could do with an update but for the price i wouldn't complain.
Only complaint is the shower heads are fixed at about 5ft so me being 6ft tall meant an uncomfortable showering experience.
Wished we had time to stay linnet though as 1 night in monterey didn't do it justice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Monterey Days Inn. We appreciate your many positive comments about our location, clean rooms, friendly staff, and grounds. Many of guests have shared in your opinion and we always appreciate when these comments are reinforced. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they work hard to provide each guest with a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    266
    135
    41
    40
See reviews for
171
241
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We drove from Albuquerque to Monterey and stayed at this hotel. The room was very large with a pretty comfortable king size bed. We also had an ocean view. It is an older hotel that could use a facelift and fixing, but for the location and price was perfect for our trip. I actually enjoyed the noise of the seals, seagulls and the naval academy trumpet every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Situated just out of the main shopping area so in a quiet area.However,its a short walk into town and down to the aquarium.Rooms are clean and a continental breakfast is provided.Theres nothing spectacular about the hotel but its O.K.for a restfull overnight stay.Everything is average about the place and you get what you pay for.Stayed in room 218 which was on the end of the first floor and quiet..just what I wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to stay at Monterey. Nice helpful staff and the place is very clean. Continental breakfast was good too. Love how it's close to everything and it's walking distance to Fishermans warf. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

For the third year in a row we have traveled to Monterey, mainly to eat at the WONDERFUL Old Seafood Grotto restaurant. I'd rather spend most of my travel budget on food instead of lodging, so despite our noise problems with this Days Inn in the past, I decided to give it a third try. I called and spoke with desk clerk Annish and explained we would rather not stay unless we could have a third floor view room. He told us that he couldn't guarantee it but he thought we stood a good chance of getting one. When we arrived, Annish was not there and despite having a two month old reservation, a room on our requested floor was not available. We were once again schlepped off to a second floor view room, the noisiest floor in the annex building across the street from the main hotel complex. I have to say I really like everything about this property except the noise factor. The view rooms are roomy, have very comfortable beds, are kept spotlessly clean and have a distant but nice view of Monterey Bay. A short walk ends you up in the plaza next to Fisherman's Wharf . As usual, ear plugs were required due to the hotels apparent policy of only renting third floor rooms to people who can prove the ability to annoy the hell out of guests unlucky enough to be relegated to second floor rooms. Despite my complaint, I do like the Days Inn and will return, however, next time I will bring my rowdy granddaughter so I will qualify for a third floor room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massies Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Simple, clean, safe. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very nice and the bed was comfortable. We experienced no outside noise. The location is fine and easy to get to attractions. Was pleased with the coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. This was just the kind of room that I was hoping to find for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Not a great hotel but good for a day. If you are transiting by Monterey, you can stay here. Rooms are big, and clean as well. However, overall property is distributed and it feels like you are in one room apartment rather than hotel/inn. However, no complains as for a night stay, probably not much of service needed. Found front desk manager/executive almost always on her cell phone. Its better to stay towards sea side rather than downtown as its not a large city anyway.

Room Tip: Ask room in the main property, where front office is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#5 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#34 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monterey Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.