We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Monterey Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Stillwater, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

For $60 I got a nice clean room. Plus I showed up at 2:00 and even though a person isn't supposed to check in until 3:00, the man let me in early. I thought that was great because I needed a nap. I honestly diid not try the breakfast because I was up at 5:00AM to head out fishing. I thoight it was a good price and itwas near the downtown and the Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and found great value with the rates that you paid. We look forward to seeing you on your next fishing trip! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    223
    116
    34
    35
See reviews for
142
209
33
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the annex rooms across the road on Munras, 2nd floor nice clean large room with a bay window.
There was an elevator which was good as we had heavy bags and an infant child to cope with.
The beds were comfortable.
The TV didn't work initially, but after calling the front desk a staff member arrived very quickly and fixed the problem which was something to do with the Cable.
The breakfast room was inconvenient as it is in the main building, the food was basic and the bagels seemed a little stale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your recent review of your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. I see that you stayed in one of our Ocean View rooms which are very popular for there additional size and views of Monterey Bay. We appreciate your suggestions as we are always looking to improve our services. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CT, USA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was a solo traveller. I wanted something of a reasonable price since there was only me. This hotel is within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Aquarium etc. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and even a Trader Joe's (which I used). The room is not at all fancy....perhaps even a little 'dated' but the price was very good. Bed comfortable. Breakfast OK for a quick start to the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your most recent experience at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We are always pleased to hear that a guest finds good value at our location. Our staff works hard so that each guest experience is enjoyable so that they will choose our hotel for future stays. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the great surrounding as we are walking distance to the many shops and dining of Downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf. we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here one night while visiting Monterey. Nice clean room with hot shower at very good rate. Breakfast is OK, but if you need more there is Danny's just around the corner. Location is good, walking distance to the warf, Trader Joe's just 2 blocks away. At one point I wanted to ask front desk clerk for directions, but there was no one at the desk, I waited for a bit and then left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rooms are generally clean, good hot tub with great jets. Your typical continental breakfast. Basic bathroom. Good fan/heater in room. Outside entering units which is nice. So, as you can see- hotel did the trick for a good rate.

HOWEVER, the service sucked. When we arrived the front desk man literally said two words two phrases, "Name, and Credit card" He then handed over a form, with literally no explanation of what should be signed, ran the card and placed the receipt in front of me for signing then gave me one loose key and said my room number and waited for me to leave.
I had to ask where my room was, where we parked, what time was check out, did they have a hot tub, etc. He looked at me like I was a total pain and being ridiculous and gave me one word curt answers. Then also provided the wrong time of closing for the Hot Tub- and literally no explanation of where it was, if we needed towels etc.

I don't think it is asking a lot to be told where your room is located and what the basic services are at the hotel. And, if you don't want to explain all that- at least give me the time of day when I ask.

Also- we were staying one night and checking out in the morning. Housekeeping showed up before 9:00 for cleaning- why would they come clean your room before you have checked out, and before 9:00am. Check out guests obviously aren't going to need a room cleaning before they leave.

Accommodations do the trick and provide a restful night of sleep- but don't expect anything more beyond that.

Room Tip: Lots of activity in the morning, second floor rooms are likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities our hotel offers. I was disappointed to hear the level service you experienced while staying with us. I can assure you that this is not normal and that we take providing excellent customer very seriously as seen in the countless reviews complimenting our service level. I will take this back to our staff as we are always trying to improve our guest service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised at stopping here last minute and finding a great location and an extremely comfortable bed for an amazing price and walking distance to downtown and fishermans wharf. My only gripe was the towels, not very big and small but other than that was really good value would stay there if we drive back that way. Very pleasant service on check in.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take pride in providing our guests with clean comfortable rooms at a good value. Many of guests have mentioned these thoughts in past reviews and we always pleased to hear these same thoughts from you. We do understand the suggestions you have made and will discuss these changes as we are always making changes to improve guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a great time. The room was big and relaxing and we could see fishersman wharf from the window. The bed was comfortable and it was right down the road from a new shopping mall with Whole Foods, movie theater, retail stores etc. Also close to 17 mile drive. We enjoyed our stay and will return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our staff and I are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed there time in Monterey and especially at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found the bed comfort to your satisfaction as all bed sets have been replaced with Simmons Beatuyrest Pillowtop beds. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our central location and enjoy historic downtown Monterey and Fherman's Wharf. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monterey Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.