We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Monterey Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised at stopping here last minute and finding a great location and an extremely comfortable bed for an amazing price and walking distance to downtown and fishermans wharf. My only gripe was the towels, not very big and small but other than that was really good value would stay there if we drive back that way. Very pleasant service on check in.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take pride in providing our guests with clean comfortable rooms at a good value. Many of guests have mentioned these thoughts in past reviews and we always pleased to hear these same thoughts from you. We do understand the suggestions you have made and will discuss these changes as we are always making changes to improve guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    222
    116
    34
    35
See reviews for
142
209
33
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a great time. The room was big and relaxing and we could see fishersman wharf from the window. The bed was comfortable and it was right down the road from a new shopping mall with Whole Foods, movie theater, retail stores etc. Also close to 17 mile drive. We enjoyed our stay and will return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our staff and I are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed there time in Monterey and especially at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found the bed comfort to your satisfaction as all bed sets have been replaced with Simmons Beatuyrest Pillowtop beds. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our central location and enjoy historic downtown Monterey and Fherman's Wharf. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eg Ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had a last minute golf trip planned to Monterey area with my son; my usual inexpensive motel on Munras was quoting very high rates, for them due to new managers, and their pool/spa wasn't open. We wanted a spa for after golf. I did reservations with Wyndham on line but in calling the site to assure reservation was made and that we could cancel out 4th night I hit a brick wall. The site had no record of reservation, 3 people at corporate were not helpful however Holly was most sincere in trying to help us. My wife kept calling to confirm while my son and are were golfing and out for dinner then checked in quite late. The manager was staffing the desk, reservations were ready, easy to cancel out 4th night, and I was quite surprised with the size of the room, and impressed with the new mattresses and other furnishings. Certainly a place I will stay again as the quality/price is so much better than my "Munras cheapie". Spa is quite small, but water temp was hot, and very powerful jets. Breakfast room has the very basics, but is typical. Traeder Joe, Peets Coffee, and Denny's are just down the street if needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3 story annex building on Abrego which seemed to be newer and had some covered park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me thank you for giving us the opportunity to service your hotel needs during your golf trip with your son. Many guests as you put it are "pleasantly surprised" when they arrive to our hotel as we provide nice, clean accommodations along with our hot tub and reasonable breakfast. I was happy to hear that your reservation adjustment was taken care to your satisfaction as we always aim to please. We hope you choose us in the future for your next trip to Monterey. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monterey Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.