We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic and CHEAP !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Monterey Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean basic and CHEAP !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This was a basic hotel around 10 mins walk from the harbour. About 20mins walk to the Cannery. The cheapest in Monterey but adequate for a short stay . If you like a beer the mucky duck pub is only a short stroll away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. As you mentioned many of our guest enjoy our location as it is walking disnatce to downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf. Our staff works hard to provide clean comfortable rooms at a great value. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your nect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    266
    135
    41
    41
See reviews for
172
241
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this Motel for one night 31st Oct.Very friendly staff,the room was clean & cosy shower hot.Coffee maker,iron & ironing board,plus hair drier.Just a 10 min walk to town with plenty of options for evening meals we had a lovely meal & a couple of good beers in the Britania they were also holding a fancy dress evening as it was Halloween good night out.Walk a little further & you are at Fishermans Wharf plenty of fish eateries here watch out for theSealions! Monterey is a very nice town & Days Inn a good place to stay.Good breaky too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback about your stay at our hotel. We were happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and walk to the many sites and sounds that Monterey has to offer. Halloween is fun time to be in Monterey and the Britania is local and tourist favorite. We truly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This fine hotel was centrally located to all the exciting downtown shops and the Monterey Aquarium. The check-in process was a breeze and the entire staff were very pleasant and service-oriented. Breakfasts were tasty and well balanced. Our room was spacious and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed our wonderful week at Days Inn Monterey Downtown.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter than rooms on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. Our staff was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard to provide clean comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. As you mentioned our hotel is centrally located, walking distance to downtown Monterey shops and restaraunts. we look forward to your next visit to our hotel and the Monterey area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'm glad the previous poster had a better experience than we did... there was no attendant at the front desk for at least 20 minutes when we arrived and when someone finally did show up he was very rude to us because we "rang the bell." We were intimidated and didn't ask any questions about the breakfast because of his attitude. The lobby was locked up tight the next morning so we didn't get breakfast... we had no idea where to go. We could not get a copy of our receipt even though we asked it to be e-mailed to us. The room was exceptionally clean - but the front desk ruined the entire experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize for the experience you had during your stay. There is nothing that I can say or do to correct your recent experience. What I can assure you of is that your comments will be used to improve all areas of our hotel. As you can see from the countless reviews we have had that past customers have complimented the hotel on our level of service, freindly staff and excellent housekeeping. We are are always striving to improve each guest experience and will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#5 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#34 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monterey Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.