We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Monterey Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Salinas, California
1 review
“Great location great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I just stayed there two weekends ago and the rooms were very clean and big. Even had a view of the ocean. If you are looking for a nice hotel in Monterey that is close to downtown and a good value this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    171
    91
    28
    32
See reviews for
107
158
30
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Rooms were big, clean and we even had an ocean view. Downtown is just a couple blocks away. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Monterey or even locals who want a night away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I wanted everything for next to nothing - a huge whirlpool tub, a fireplace, and all for less than one hundred and fifty dollars. I got it, but with some trade-offs. The room was actually a sitting room and bedroom, big, had a fireplace, king bed and whirlpool, and a skylight over the tub. Only problem: the skylight was completely caked over with bird droppings. Not really the hotel's fault, but not really romantic to gaze up and see....guano.

Breakfast was basic for a continental - slightly stale, nothing very appealing, but nothing actively offensive. Close enough to walk to the free trolley to the Aquarium.

Overall, I'd probably stay there again, but with so many different hotels in Monterey to try relatively cheaply, I'd probably not go too far out of my way to do so.

Room Tip: Only one room with a fireplace and large tub, upstairs on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Picked this Day's Inn at the last minute while on the road with an old AAA guide book only by price and location to downtown Monterey.

The price seemed "right" for us when I called the motel while on the road the evening of my stay. We reserved the room over the phone and gave our credit card which I was reluctant to do.
We requested a king bed and got a "smallish" room with a king bed when we arrived late that evening. I didn't realize that there was NO boxspring under the mattress until I was ready for bed and pulled back the bedspread. The bed was extremely hard and I did not sleep well. Everything else about the place seemed tired and lackluster since we had stayed at another Day's Inn in Morro Bay the night before for $13 less (fabulous and large king size room).

Please note this is NOT downtown but in a commercial area with LOTS of other motels including another Day's Inn a short distance down the street! We had to drive to get to the marina and pier and further for Cannery Row.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I received appalling customer service at this Days Inn (Located on: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940). Upon arriving at this Days Inn, the staff appeared uninterested in providing a welcoming service and was very unhelpful with any questions I had about the area. Unfortunately, this experience has influenced me enough to never want to stay with any of the Days Inn locations.

Room Tip: Please research reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I had reservations for 3 days at this hotel. Price and location were the attraction. Later called and canceled reservations. The beginning of the next month I got charged for one night stay on my credit card..
Conversations with manager was not good. First my cancellation # not valid. Where else would I have received this number?
Then it was a no show charge. For the middle of the 3 days I was to stay there. Manager tells me then that would have been the billing date. Tells me have to cancel within 72 hours. Now I have to show phone bill of the date of the call. (I have yet to receive that, but certainly will make copy and send to him)
Finally he told me if I was dissatisfied to call MasterCard. I had already done that.
Hopefully we can get this straightened out in time.
As for the property, read the other reviews. Not too many 5 star ratings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My family stayed at the hotel for 2 days as a part of our trip to the aquarium. There are 2 buildings in the complex: main and oceanview (just across the street). We booked an oceanview room. The room was big (as being seen at a photo) and well furnished (good for families with children). Carpet was old but clean. The building has an elevator. no problem with parking. However, the hotel needs money to invest in remodeling. Towels were worn out with holes. a shower head was broken. paint on the window was peeled off. The hotel is definitely overpriced. Location is great. 5 min walk to WAVE trolley ( free ride across the town). 7-10 min to the Dennis the Menace park; a short distance to Fisherman's Wharf; abundance of restaurants around

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monterey Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.