We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WERE HOME SUGAR LET THE FUN BEGIN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Otter Inn to your Saves list
Otter Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   571 Wave St., Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Monterey B&B and Inns
Newman, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WERE HOME SUGAR LET THE FUN BEGIN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

my wife and i have stayed at every hotel in canery row lovers point ect. for the price you can not beat the otter i have used this in 9 or 10 times in 011 and plan to use it even more this year.i call GABBE THE NIGHT MGR.I GET GREAT SERV. my bro. and friends use it on my rec. and have all ben pleased.whn i come on my bike they have my parking res.out of the sun , goody basket ,big smile clean room, nice hot tub,per. loc.did i men. the price love yhe otter inn and the people WYATT D. RACHEL E. AND BRO. JACK SAY TRY IT YOU'LL LOVE IT.

Room Tip: they have two rooms with there own hallway next to hot tub great for two friends ect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    52
    16
    25
See reviews for
47
57
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great location and free parking. One block from Cannery Row and a short walk to the wharf. Curteous and knowledgeable staff. We were told upon check in that there may be problems with the Wi-Fi, but we didn't experience any problems. The basket of snacks is a plus. Lumpy bedding was the major detraction and the place needs an update. Also, the hot tub was out of comission due, I think, to a recent storm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I just finished reading some of the reviews of the Otter Inn in Monterey and I couldn't disagree more with the review given on Sept. 7,2011. My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for 12 years and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Monterey. We love the location. It's a block back from Cannery Row and so the restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. We also love the view of the ocean from our room. The rates are so reasonable we feel you get so much value from staying there. When you check in you are given a basket full of nuts, sweet rolls, granola bars, etc. The manager is another reason we keep coming back. From our very first visit she has bent over backwards to make our stay a good one. She's very knowledgable about the area and over the years she has recommended restaurants that have become our favorites. We feel she has become our friend and we look forward to seeing her on our visits. I should also mention that the rooms have always been immaculately clean and ready for us when we check in. For the past 12 years we have never had any negative experiences with the hotel and it's staff and we will continue to make the Otter Inn our "home away from home!"

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great location, free parking, and basic but neat rooms. The guy at the reception was helpful, though he insisted I had to book through their website to get the best rate.

Couldn't get the room's wireless Internet to work. The weak, unsecured signal from the lobby worked, more or less.

Upon check-in, we got a complimentary basket with snacks. Another plus: Every room seems to have at least one photo of a sea otter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We'd been driving all day and this was the first place we found. The guy at reception wasn't very friendly at all, the rooms were clean, but the WiFi didn't work, the shower was a trickle, pillows were flat and not comfortable and there was a single power point in a twin room... I tried to call reception 3 times about the lack of WiFi and just got someone reading me the bible each time! The only good points were location, right in the cannery row area, and you can leave the car parked there until 4pm the next day, so can explore Monterey. Definitely wouldn't stay again or recommend it to anyone though.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This inn is walking distance to all of the main attractions in Monterey. It is considerably more affordable than any of the other hotel options in the same location. It is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are basic and maybe a bit outdated, but it is very inexpensive for the location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last September. We were in town for the Laguna Seca races. The room was great for the amount we paid for. Room and bathroom were clean. My only complaint is that the walls are very thin. We weren't in the room very much so it wasn't too much of a concern. We loved how close it was to cannery row and all the restaurants! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Inn

Address: 571 Wave St., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otter Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.