We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Hotel to your Saves list
Monterey Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Alvarado Street, Monterey, CA 93940-2711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our room faced Alverado. Stayed on a Friday and I got NO sleep because it was so noisy! Kept thinking, I paid for this?? So noisy it was as if our bed was actually in a bar. Aargh!! Avoid if you have kiddos. Pay the extra cash and stay elsewhere. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    106
    53
    27
    24
See reviews for
32
116
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I read TripAdvisor reviews before reserving my 1 night stay at this charmer. The draw was it's location and history. With that location - right in the middle of the historic Monterey downtown - it shouldn't be a surprise that there is noise from traffic and the restaurants along Alvarado Street. It's less than a 5 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf so yes, there are seagulls. The surrounding streets have old adobes and historic buildings an easy stroll away. Good cafes and restaurants also on the same block. The place was built in 1904 so it doesn't have the insulation that more bland and modern hotels will have so if that's not ok, this isn't the place for you. In my opinion, it's part of the charm. Knew there was no elevator but asked for a room with a view which meant 3 flights up. So it took a couple of trips with our bags (and the very professional and friendly gal who checked us in asked if we wanted help, so that is available for those who want it). The view was over the rooftops to the bay and hills, which afforded us a spectacular view of a full moonrise over the water. Earplugs are provided. I am a light sleeper, but once the live music at the cafe across the street ended around 10pm on a Sunday night, it was fine.
There is a parking garage up the street just east of Alvarado one block. The gal who checked us in told us if we found a spot on the street Sunday afternoon (which we did) it was fine as long as we moved it before 10am Monday morning. No meters, so free if that timing works for you.
I would return to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms are small. Nice bathrooms with granite floors. Ceiling fan as there was no A/C.

I had to close window at 2:00AM due to loud talking outside and cigarette smoke entering room.

One reviewer , wngrl must have snored through all the commotion. This hotel is ok for limited stay. The staff, especially Chris was outstanding.

Early morning valet girl was slow getting our car out.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I found the deal on travelzoo. Called the hotel directly and got a very helpful front desk person ( female ) who found me a quiet room (205) away from the noise of the street. She told me it had no view but it was the most quet of the rooms. She was right. Small room with average size bathroom. Nice overhead ceiling fan( as there is no AC!) two big windows to let cool air in with plantation shutters. Walgreens and a cute bar is two doors down. Located in a busy area of town with many restaurants and shops. A few homeless were noted but no panhandlers around the areas.
Incidentally the front desk gentleman went to my High school in Warner Robins Georgia and sent up a bottle of wine for us! If you are in a budget and can find this hotel discounted I would recommend. Wouldn't pay rack rate price however.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My fiancee and i traveled here in late September for two nights in a king room overlooking the main street. We loved the old world charm of the hotel and had a great stay. I had seen a lot of complaints about the noise, but for anyone who has lived in a city before it is quite calm. The staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast a great big plus. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Monterey and everything is an easy walk from the hotel including fishermans wharf, the monterey aquarium, and cannery row. There is also a great farmers market that sets up every week with great food and entertainment. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but the higher up you are the better the bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked this hotel as I was having difficulty finding somewhere in the Carmel/Monterey area for the weekend and I needed two rooms [didn't realise that the jazz festival was on!]
The hotel is old and quaint, situated on the main street [Alvarado Street] - it is beautifully clean, the rooms are in need of a little updating but fine, the staff were very friendly and helpful BUT....
if you stay here do not under any circumstances allow them to give you a room which faces the street! The noise levels at night are horrendous - the earplugs provided on the bedside table are a big clue - things didn't quiet down until 3am even with earplugs!
the complimentary continental breakfast provided is good but I'm afraid we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: insist on a room at the back!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lovely Victorian in Downtown Monterey
This hotel is Located in downtown "Old Monterey" I loved it!! The staff was very attentive and our room was lovely... I personally look for unique hotels and this one was perfect. I took my two daughters on a college tour. They thought that that the hotel was great... Plus they found out the hotel was suppose to be haunted which made them want to explore it more... Made it a fun adventure! You can also hear the seagulls which I really enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: 406 Alvarado Street, Monterey, CA 93940-2711
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.