We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 Off Room Rate
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great room and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

The room was excellent, large and newly refurbished. There was a fridge, microwave,coffee maker, iron and ironing board etc and everything was in excellent condition. Great bathroom with good water pressure.

The lady at the reception desk was extremely helpful and went out of her way to assist us.

It was an easy to get to Fisherman's Wharf, by taxi or walking, where there were many places to eat and drink.

  • Liked — Helpful staff and good room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    217
    65
    17
    11
See reviews for
116
268
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed in a King room July 12 - 14. The room was newly remodeled, w/ a/c, fridge, microwave, carpet, paint, granite bath counters, all very nice. Great prices for high season in Monterey. We had a back room which was very quiet. Did have some problems getting wireless internet with our Mac. The breakfast was pretty spare but the staff was very friendly and helpful. We are in Monterey pretty regularly and will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Newly remodeled rooms.
  • Disliked — Lack of wireless connectivity for Mac computers.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Our room was very typical of the motel chains, 2 queen sized beds, TV, aircon, fridge etc etc. Firstly the plus points, I would say our bathroom was better than the average motel, a newly fitted shinny black sink unit, powerful shower and high gloss stone floor was very plush. Secondly the internet was faster than any other motel we stayed at. A couple of problems however made us move on earlier than we had planned, firstly the room had musky smell about it that we just could not shift, the breakfast consisted of 'longlife' sweet-biscuits, coffee with no milk (just whitener) and orange juice and that's it! No toast, no muffins, no cereal. And the final thing was all three of us received bedbug bites after 2 nights of staying here.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFranciscoElvisfan, Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
A pest control company came in and investigated
the situation. The pest control company found Ticks.
They advised us that they are sometimes bought in by
humans or animals.
Our rooms have undergone a major remodeling. New beds, carpeting, bathrooms etc..
The room which had the problem has been thoroughly sanitized and closed for 1 week.
All our rooms are non-smoking and no pets
allowed. So this was a one time incident that
we took care of straight away.
We apologize sincerely.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We chose this place because you would not believe how hard it is to find rooms for a family of six. We were able to get two rooms right next to each other. You could tell they have been recently updating and the rooms were very nice. My only complaint would be we were on the bottom floor and every morning starting quite early you could hear the people above us start to move around. Their floors and our ceiling was very squeeky. This caused us to wake up way before we had planned. This is a non-smoking place, which meant we had to go outside to light a birthday candle for our 3 y. dd. The breakfast they provide is pastries (wrapped) , oj, hot choc., and coffee. But don't expect to go there later in the day for coffee or hot choc. because it will not be there. All in all, this place was nice and we would prob. stay there again. Oh, yeah there is a park around the corner that is a great place to let the kids run around and burn off any excess energy.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Squeeky floors above you.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

From the very beginning of my stay I knew I would love this place. A spacy parking lot, bordered with flowers. A nice little swimming pool. Close to California 1 road, however, I did not notice it all. Close to local attractions (beach, stores within 5 minutes' walking distance).
The lady and the gentelman at the front desk were extremely helpful. They showed me where to go and what to see, and without pushing me.
The rooms are quiet and clean. Equipped with a microwave, fridge, AC, television with HBO.
The bathroom is also very nice and clean, more what I expected. Towels + soap, shampoo too.
This place was really worth the money. Recommended.

  • Liked — was quiet, no disturbance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed here for two nights last weekend and I have to say that we were more than happy with everything. My husband and I come to Monterey often, and usually choose to save money when it comes to hotels, and spend money on other things such as food, entertainment and shopping. The other places we have stayed in Monterey had better locations, but otherwise were nowhere NEAR as nice as this little gem.

The beds are more than decent, the rooms are tasteful and spacious-feeling, and the bathrooms are marble and make you feel as though you've just spent twice as much on your stay. And the location really is pretty good. You COULD walk downtown if the weather's nice and you're feeling romantic, it's only a little over a mile away. But being right off of Hwy 1, this place is so quiet, you wouldn't believe it. It has a private, tucked-away feeling that we just weren't expecting.

Also, the couple who run the place are very sweet. We will be back as soon as possible!

  • Liked — The room and overall feel of the place
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

A very nice family-run hotel with good amenities and close to the attractions in Monterey. We had a very nice room and it was good value. You can find it just off route 1 - so a good place to stay if you are driving up the PCH (as we were).

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.