We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful, large rooms and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful, large rooms and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Friendly helpful staff at check in. Location not on our car's satnav but you come across it very quickly as you enter town. Easy to miss though. On junction of 10th and Park Street. Good size rooms. We ordered a two double bedded room and very pleased with it. Beds comfortable, overall in a very quiet and safe location. Room clean and tidy. Location approx 30 mins easy walk to Fisherman's wharf. Would definitely stay here again. Small swimming pool good for a quick dip. Plenty of free parking and free WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Robert:

I wanted to personally thank you for your positive review of our hotel, Stage Coach Lodge. Being so close to having a perfect review from you really pleases our staff--we work really hard to provide a unique place to stay for those visiting Monterey.

We'd love to host you again. Next time, book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you will find our lowest rates.

Come Again,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    179
    56
    14
    10
See reviews for
101
219
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Motel/Hotel is fantastic.
The rooms are large and clean. The owners were very friendly and very informative, they advised us on attractions and restaurants.
Not bad value for money and we would definitely stay here again.
The weather wasnt great but it was still warmish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Sam:

Thanks for your overwhelmingly positive review. Reviews such as yours help highlight our property to others in the TripAdvisor community, so thank you very much.

Do come and stay with us again and next time book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates, making Stage Coach Lodge the best value in Monterey.

Thank You,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for our anniversary and overall we were pleased with our stay, especially the attention to detail regarding our requests. When booking online, I requested extra pillows as I was pregnant, and a quiet room. We had a really nice corner room that was extremely quiet that faced the backyard and not the parking lot like the other rooms. When we checked in, the front desk person made sure I had extra pillows.

When we first walked in the room, I noticed a smell of bleach and asked the front desk if our room was next to the laundry room with use of bleach. The reply was no, the bleach was from the bathroom being cleaned prior to our arrival. He did make a request to the service lady to not use bleach during our stay, which was nice on his part.

The bathroom was beautiful, with granite for the countertop and shower area. Soap and shampoo were provided, but not conditioner (which I would recommend supplying). Room was a good size. Furniture was so-so, but bed was comfortable. Sheets were soft and clean. Would have liked it if the TV included the Food Network, but that's personal preference. Not many TV channels. Wi-Fi connection was good, and free. Downside was the carpets - had a sticky residue. Would recommend steam cleaning the carpets once every 3 months to avoid that problem. Breakfast was okay, with store-bought pastries, bagels, toast, juice, coffee, hot chocolate. Eating area was very small.

Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

We wanted to thank you for your glowing review. Reviews like yours help share our property with others and help us improve our product and service. We certainly apologize for the carpet complaint and will seek out to get that taken care of! We really pride ourselves on paying attention to detail and offering a hospitality and care that other hotels in the area may lack.

We hope that you come visit us again. Book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you will find our lowest rates.

Thank You,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We made an impromptu trip to Monterey, and as it was the height of a busy summer season it was difficult to find a hotel for one night on the weekend. Furthermore, finding a hotel that had good enough reviews for me in a town seemingly filled with 2 star hotels that look to have never been updated was even more difficult. After an entire day of searching I booked this using Booking.com. The bathrooms have been nicely done with granite counter, floors and shower walls. The room had a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and safe as well as a nice flat screen tv. The furniture (table, chairs and dresser) were dated but in good condition. The beds were comfortable and clean despite some holes in the blanket. While the parking lot was small and could only accommodate one vehicle per room, it was a nice location. We were allowed to check-in an hour and a half early which was very helpful. An adequate continental breakfast in the updated but small lobby was included with the room. Overall, a good choice in Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

I wanted to personally thank you for your review. We're very pleased that you had a great stay and deem The Stage Coach Lodge to be a good choice in Monterey.

Next time book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you'll find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a handy room near to reception with parking directly outside. Breakfast was ok, cereal toast and pastries - small seating area all in the reception. 15 minute walk to the beach and wharf area. Bit pricey for an average motel but it was clean and comfortable

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a road trip. We had room 215 (upstairs room - no elevator available) which was large, immaculately clean and very nicely furnished. Location is a quiet residential area, about a 25 minute walk from Fisherman's wharf in downtown Monterey. There is a tiny pool just off the car park, which we didn't use. A continental breakfast is available in the lobby. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I actually left behind my Kindle in the room and I called the hotel as we did not have time to go back and retrieve it. The owner was super helpful and mailed it on to my forward address that same day. The hotel is good value for money in a relatively expensive area. The cleanliness and service were outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 215 is spacious and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Vicki:

Thank you so much for your nearly perfect score on your review for our hotel, Stage Coach Lodge. Such a review brings a smile to our staff because we work very hard to make the Stage Coach one of the hidden gems in Monterey that offers clean, comfortable, high value lodging with a level of hospitality you won't find at those many chain hotels. Your words do reflect that we are hitting some of those marks :)

We'd love to see you again. Next time book direct at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save even more!

Regards,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garland, tx
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed two nights here. Couple that runs the place are nice and went out of their way to change my room from upstairs King to downstairs double. They have no elevator so if you are unable to take your bags up stairs request a lower level room. The rooms are nice, nothing special but for the price the are a deal. Clean, and in a good location to get around. The bathrooms are small but have been updated. Beds were ok and air conditioning worked very well although a little loud. But remember this is Monterey so you don't really need them at night. Parking is good and the people that run this place keep premises spotless. I had one problem (loose toilet seat) and it was fixed when I returned in the afternoon. Breakfast is so-so but considering the price again. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Deb:

Thanks for this near perfect review of our hotel, Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey. We are very gracious for your kind words. Your words really align to our desire to make the Stage Coach the place to stay for its hospitality and value.

Next time book direct at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save even more!

Regards,

Sue & Harry - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.