We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 Off Room Rate
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great stay. Owners were very helpful. Made sure that the sofa bed was made as we had requested. Rooms were clean and the linens were fresh and white (hate the old grey look). Close to Dennis The Menace Park (walking distance) great for the kids. Hotel is updated and we enjoyed the weather by opening the windows and not using the a/c. Plenty of parking. And it was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your PERFECT SCORE! We are super thrilled and grateful for your review. We are working hard to establish Stage Coach Lodge to be a unique place to stay in Monterey where were are centrally located and off the beaten path and offer high quality lodging and hospitality at a value price.

Please come stay again and book directly with us next time to save at montereystagecoachlodge.com. In fact, enter the promo code: tripadvisor into step 2 of our booking flow and you will save some more!

Thank You,

Jay - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    217
    65
    17
    11
See reviews for
116
268
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. This place is in a very nice area and is very quiet. You can park your car right near your room. The management is very friendly and they cater to your needs. There is a continental breakfast, but you had better get there right when it starts because the food goes quickly. Each room has a coffee maker, frig, and microwave in it. The cleaning staff is very friendly and will get whatever you need with no fuss. The price is very reasonable and it is clean and has all the amenities of home. The bathroom is huge and was so very clean. It is near Cannery Row and you can easily walk to many places if you choose to do so. You can also purchase passes for the Monterey Bay Aquarium that cost the price of a one day admission but use it for two days.Will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your glowing review about our hotel, The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA. We're thrilled that you think our hotel is one of the best in Monterey--we try very hard to make sure our facility and hospitality are one of a kind and our guests leave with a positive experience like yours.

Please do visit us again. Next time, book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Such an amazing find. Sorry that it took us four years of traveling down to Monterey to find it. It is close to the highway, but off on a side street so you avoid the noise and traffic. The room was well decorated, the staff super friendly and our stay was great.

We have stayed in other America's Best Value Inns so I wasn't sure what to expect with this one. I was so surprised with this one. You cannot find another place for a reasonable price that isn't the typical "beach motel." This is conveniently located near all of the attractions, CSUMB and local neighborhoods.

Do yourself a favor and book here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Christina:

Thank you for your Perfect Score Review. Your review actually helps us crack into the Top 10 for Monterey so we really appreciate your honest review. We do get alot of comments about our brand affiliation with Americas Best Value Inn - we actually happen to be one of the best amongst ABVI's thousand plus hotels and in fact we are considering getting rid of the confusion altogether. We are glad, however, that you felt that our hotel was perfect and your stay was great.

Please do visit us again and book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The owner was very nice at check in (and out) and offered a map and information about how to get to the Wharf and Cannery Row (which is a quick drive from the motel). Convenient to the highway. Room was quiet and comfortable, very clean and modern. Room had a fridge and microwave. Cute little pool in the front. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area. Very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear ChicagoHeroine:

Thank you so much for staying with us and leaving such a positive review about our facilities and your expeirence at Stage Coach Lodge. We take alot of pride in our property and hospitality and could not be more thrilled to see a review such as yours to reflect our offering.

Do help us spread the word and come back and stay with us again. Book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save.

Regards,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were there for a wedding and the room we had reserved was beautifully surrounded with very nice decorations and amenities. A firm king-size bed with a beautiful gas fireplace, a sofa bed, and a handy kitchen with microwave oven and a fridge. The room is very clean with a granite bathroom and the rate is very inexpensive. The receptionist was friendly, knowledgeable and a true professional. I definitely will come back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a fair and balanced review of The Stage Coach. We really take immense pride in our property and would love for you to come stay with us again. Please book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com for our lowest rates.

Regards,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked to stay here recently as we were late booking and couldn't find anything on the sea front and, having stayed in another 'America's best value Inns' in another area were not expecting much. However, we were very pleasantly surprised to find a clean, comfortable and quiet motel in a good area. The lady at reception was very pleasant and welcoming and gave us all the information we wanted. We had booked a king room which was a good size and had the benefit if an extra window making it lighter. The safe was very small but adequate for passports, money and the like. The bed was comfortable although the blanket did have what appeared to be moth holes in it. The location, although quiet, was a little farther from the coast than we wanted but it could be walked in about 20 minutes and we knew this when we booked. Breakfast was adequate and better than many of this type of motel. All in all we had a very pleasant two night stay here and would be quite happy to recommend it to friends as very good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a king room - we were in room 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Chris:

Thanks for your wonderful review. We're so happy that you had a pleasureful stay at Stage Coach Lodge. We're glad that you left an honest review and would recommend us to others--this means alot. We apologize about the blanket and will definitely take a look and replace it as necessary.

Please do spread the word and come visit us again. Book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save!

See you soon,
Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We landed on this hotel based on TripAdviser reviews and were not disappointed. The room was lovely and comfortable and the staff was wonderful, friendly, and helpful. We were upgraded to a Super Deluxe room, which had a king and a pull-out sofa. The hotel is small and about a 10 minute walk to the beach. It is near a wonderful playground, which makes up for little play space at the hotel for the little ones. There is a small pool, but who goes to Monterey to use a hotel pool? It is a couple minute drive to Fisherman's Wharf and maybe 5-10 minutes to the Aquarium.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 215. It is right near the stairs, which is convenient for stuff, although if there...
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciated having both recycle and trash baskets in the room. When I left the towel on the rack, indicating that I did not want it replaced, it was not replaced. (I have found that many hotels just replace everything, regardless of where you leave it!)
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Jeremysmom:

Thank you so much for your fantastic positive review. So close to perfection--we wish we could have gotten that last little circle! Nonetheless, thank you so much for your gracious and honest review. We are truly working very hard to be the little gem of a property in Monterey that is off the beaten path and can compete with the best of them when it comes to comfort and affordability in the Monterey Area.

Please do come visit us again. Book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save some money next time!

Regards,

Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.