We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 Off Room Rate
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
fresno
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Came to town for an interview and needed an inexpensive yet clean place to stay. Desk manager was nice. The room was spacious and clean. I found the bed to be pretty hard though and not luxurious as described by others. I'm giving it four stars because it was quiet and clean and priced fairly for considering how expensive Monterey is. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure since have only stayed once. I'd call and ask which rooms have the more comfortable bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Stephanie:

I wanted to quickly thank you for your time. Thanks for leaving us a positive review of your business travel stay at Stage Coach Lodge. I am really sorry that you felt the mattress was a bit too firm--all of our mattresses are fairly new so perhaps next time we can find you a more plush mattress and room you in such a room.

We do hope you come visit us again. Please book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    235
    69
    17
    11
See reviews for
122
287
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited Monterey and its surrounding areas and stayed at Stage Coach Lodge for three nights in May 2013. This hotel was clean, neat, and had all the amenities in the room (coffee pot, refrigerator, microwave), in addition to having a good continental breakfast available. The proprietors were friendly and approachable. They worked with us over the phone to make certain our rooms and a key was available because we didn't get there the first night until very late in the evening. The rooms had been upgraded with a beautiful bathroom with granite counters, tile flooring and showers. I also liked that the rooms had good lighting and a nice double window to allow for outside light too. I definitely will recommend this hotel to anyone and would love the opportunity to visit there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Bobbi:

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a detailed and positive review in order to share our property with others. We are trying really hard to get the word out about our quaint property and level of hospitality, so please do help us spread the word.

We'd love to see you again as well. Next time, please book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you will find our lowest rates.

We look forward to hosting you again,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location is great !! Close to the wharf and Cannery Row. We had a late check in after midnight, & they were so accomodating. Left the key under room mat, so all we had to do was fall into bed til the morning. The rooms are clean and remodeled. Continental breakfast was enough for us. The host are the best, friendly and helpfull. I went home and booked another night for my daughters and their children. I felt comfortable with the area and room were so clean that I feel very comfortable to recommend this hotel to family and friends.
Linda S 06/08/2013

Room Tip: Great Location and Value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Linda:

Thank you so much for your PERFECT SCORE! That's so awesome. It really brings a smile to our team when we receive such praise. We are working really hard to get the word out and show people our quaint and charming property which is off the beaten path. We are located in a quiet area right off the Downtown Monterey Exit and offer clean, comfortable and modern lodging that can compare with the best of them in the area and your review really helps highlight this, so thank you!

We'd love to host you again--please come and visit us. Next time book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent a week traveling from Reno, through Yosemite and ending up in Monterey. This was a very nice finish to our travels. We spent 3 nights here. The hotel is located close to downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery row although not within easy walking distance. The hosts were great and provided a lot of helpful information about the area. Rooms were spacious and very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, General Manager at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your super positive review of your stay at The Stage Coach. Your kind words mean alot to us because it signals to us that our hard work shows. We are truly trying to set The Stage Coach Lodge apart from the chain motels and other properties in the Monterey area and your review helps to illustrate that.

Please do come and visit us again and next time book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter the promo code tripadvisor to get an even lower rate.

See you soon,

Jay - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at stage coach lodge for four nights. Big comfy beds. Nice clean rooms. Well located one and a half miles to downtown Monterey. Friendly hosts who provide a basic but adequate continental breakfast. Only reason I didn't give five stars is the pillows were very flat. A minor inconvenience. Recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Karen:

Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay at Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey. Cleanliness is next to Godliness in our book so we are really pleased that you found our place spotless. As with the pillows--we're sorry that you found them a bit flat. We certainly have other pillows we could have provided you. We hope to make it right next time, so please do come visit us again!

Next time you visit, we kindly advise you to book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates.

See you soon,

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After reading the great reviews on here we decided on staying here for a short family vacation. I booked the room right off of their site for two nights and it was very easy. The lady that greeted us was very nice and helpful and gave us an area map. The place is small and off the beaten path but I like that. We were traveling with our 4 year old and we got a room with two double beds. The room was spacious and newly remodeled including the bathroom. The beds were a little too springy and hard for my husband and a little noisy but my son and I liked the harder beds. We were right by a staircase and the walls are thin but I'm also a light sleeper. My husband had no problems sleeping through it all. Overall nice comfortable and clean place to stay while enjoying sightseeing in Monterey. Compared with the other places I have stayed in Monterey this one definitely wins for value, cleanliness, and service. There is a continental breakfast each morning as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
JennyBenny:

You are awesome! Thanks for such a great review. We are a little bummed we missed out on a couple points and just barely missed a perfect review! But nonetheless, your review really means alot to us. It reflects the hard work and investment we have put into our property to make it one of the best values when visiting Monterey. Please do help spread the word.

Next time you come visit do book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you will find our lowest rates. On top of that, enter the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 extra per night!

See you soon,

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel this is. The bedroom was clean, fresh, light and airy. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, friendly staff.....until breakfast that is. Only two tables and a very small breakfast bar. Breakfast is not served early at this hotel. We had to wait until 8. Everyone headed for breakfast and it was full. They said we could take it away to our room but we didnt want to load a tray up and walk to our room. This is the only thing that let this hotel down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Elaine:

I wanted to first off thank you for your honest review and wanted to personally apologize about your experience at breakfast. We actually just finished redesigning our breakfast room to accommodate larger groups and I guess the morning you went to have breakfast we must have had a rush, so we truly apologize for your poor experience in the morning. We are still very thankful for your review and would hope that you come visit us again. We will do what we can to make sure you are accommodated well at breakfast time.

Please book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com next time to save!

Sincerely,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.