We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent big clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special: $5 Off Room Rate
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent big clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at stage coach lodge for four nights. Big comfy beds. Nice clean rooms. Well located one and a half miles to downtown Monterey. Friendly hosts who provide a basic but adequate continental breakfast. Only reason I didn't give five stars is the pillows were very flat. A minor inconvenience. Recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Karen:

Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay at Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey. Cleanliness is next to Godliness in our book so we are really pleased that you found our place spotless. As with the pillows--we're sorry that you found them a bit flat. We certainly have other pillows we could have provided you. We hope to make it right next time, so please do come visit us again!

Next time you visit, we kindly advise you to book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com to find our lowest rates.

See you soon,

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    204
    63
    15
    11
See reviews for
112
254
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After reading the great reviews on here we decided on staying here for a short family vacation. I booked the room right off of their site for two nights and it was very easy. The lady that greeted us was very nice and helpful and gave us an area map. The place is small and off the beaten path but I like that. We were traveling with our 4 year old and we got a room with two double beds. The room was spacious and newly remodeled including the bathroom. The beds were a little too springy and hard for my husband and a little noisy but my son and I liked the harder beds. We were right by a staircase and the walls are thin but I'm also a light sleeper. My husband had no problems sleeping through it all. Overall nice comfortable and clean place to stay while enjoying sightseeing in Monterey. Compared with the other places I have stayed in Monterey this one definitely wins for value, cleanliness, and service. There is a continental breakfast each morning as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
JennyBenny:

You are awesome! Thanks for such a great review. We are a little bummed we missed out on a couple points and just barely missed a perfect review! But nonetheless, your review really means alot to us. It reflects the hard work and investment we have put into our property to make it one of the best values when visiting Monterey. Please do help spread the word.

Next time you come visit do book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you will find our lowest rates. On top of that, enter the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 extra per night!

See you soon,

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel this is. The bedroom was clean, fresh, light and airy. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, friendly staff.....until breakfast that is. Only two tables and a very small breakfast bar. Breakfast is not served early at this hotel. We had to wait until 8. Everyone headed for breakfast and it was full. They said we could take it away to our room but we didnt want to load a tray up and walk to our room. This is the only thing that let this hotel down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Elaine:

I wanted to first off thank you for your honest review and wanted to personally apologize about your experience at breakfast. We actually just finished redesigning our breakfast room to accommodate larger groups and I guess the morning you went to have breakfast we must have had a rush, so we truly apologize for your poor experience in the morning. We are still very thankful for your review and would hope that you come visit us again. We will do what we can to make sure you are accommodated well at breakfast time.

Please book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com next time to save!

Sincerely,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you visit the Monterey peninsula mostly you are outside so you can get a basic room type and it's fine. This property has WiFi and cable. The owner is friendly. We got an excellent rate with a Groupon. We have tried 4 or more places in the Monterey area, and we think staying in Pacific Grove is the most fun because it is easier to walk to the beach and there is less traffic. Monterey area is compact and you are never too far from anything. So I would recommend this place if you want a budget motel. For its category it is fine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Overall a good experience. Clean rooms. We might have been there during an expensive weekend, our room was around $120 which I think was a bit high but monterey seems to be pricey fir hotels in general. It was nice that they had a pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and staff. We enjoyed our visit. The rooms are clean and have nice finishes. The front Desk lady/operator is so friendly and accommodating. We checked in really late and she was as nice to us at 1:30am as she was at 9:30am. The location is greAt if you are exploring the Monterey (and the Monterey Bay Area). It's right off of hwy 1 and is close to major roadways. Its not in the middle of all the major tourist areas but very close.

The cons: beds were a little worn and walls are thin; although in general property and surrounding area was quiet

Happy Travels

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Michelle:

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really try hard to make sure we add a hospitable and personal touch to your stay. We at The Stage Coach are trying to make a boutique lodging experience that differentiates us from the worn out motel roads on Munras and Fremont Streets and offers a high quality budget stay which can compare to the bigger more expensive hotels in Monterey. Thank you for helping highlight that we are meeting some of these goals.

Next time do book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter tripadvisor in the promo code section to save even more.

We hope to see you again!

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while in town for the Big Sur Marathon. The owners were very friendly and have us a map upon arrival with local destinations. This hotel is about a 15/20 minute walk to the Fisherman Wharf area through residential neighborhoods. The expo and bus pick up for race was also in a hotel about 15 minute walk away. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. They do provide a continental breakfast in the lobby each morning. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends who visit Monterey and don't want to spend an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Jason:

Thank you so much for your positive review for our property, The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey. Your honest review truly helps reflect the hard work we put in to making our hotel a great budget alternative to the bigger hotels and a unique stop compared to the franchises and chains. Your review hits the nail on the head with what we are trying to hammer home with all of our guests: The Stage Coach Lodge offers a boutique high quality lodging experience at a budget for those traveling to Monterey.

Next time you visit, definitely book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter promo code tripadvisor to save even more!

See you soon,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638 (Formerly Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.