We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice budget hotel for the Monterey area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Promo Code
Ranked #9 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice budget hotel for the Monterey area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here while in town for the Big Sur Marathon. The owners were very friendly and have us a map upon arrival with local destinations. This hotel is about a 15/20 minute walk to the Fisherman Wharf area through residential neighborhoods. The expo and bus pick up for race was also in a hotel about 15 minute walk away. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. They do provide a continental breakfast in the lobby each morning. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends who visit Monterey and don't want to spend an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Jason:

Thank you so much for your positive review for our property, The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey. Your honest review truly helps reflect the hard work we put in to making our hotel a great budget alternative to the bigger hotels and a unique stop compared to the franchises and chains. Your review hits the nail on the head with what we are trying to hammer home with all of our guests: The Stage Coach Lodge offers a boutique high quality lodging experience at a budget for those traveling to Monterey.

Next time you visit, definitely book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and enter promo code tripadvisor to save even more!

See you soon,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    150
    46
    13
    10
See reviews for
77
193
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taiwan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very Quiet hotel only 20 minutes walk to Fisherman's Wharf, another 15 mins walk to Cannery Row where all the fun and restaurant located. Hotel breakfast ok continental nothing else , people are friendly and nice. Rooms are clean but check the coffee maker .. ours is dusty we need to wash it up again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very thankful for your review. We certainly apologize about the issue you had with your coffee pot and we have addressed such concerns with our housekeeping. We are pleased that you felt we offered a great budget stay as that highlights our aim to be a high quality budget friendly place to stay when visiting Monterey.

Do come visit us again and next time do book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save.

Thank You,

Sue - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a wonderful couple of days in Monterey. Stayed at the Stagecoach Inn, which was a nice walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel was on a quiet street in a safe neighborhood. The owners were very nice and accommodating. We slept well and enjoyed the continental breakfast both mornings. We definitely will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Linda:

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful experience spending your anniversary with us at The Stage Coach. Thank you for your gracious review.

Please do come and visit us again. Next time, book directly with us at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save!

Regards,
Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

In the outer parts of the township, this motel seems to have been completely renovated in recent times, so we were lucky to ignore the older poor reviews and focus on the more recent ones.
Our room seemed typical, was spacious with quality fittings and furniture, lovely beds, and a truly excellent bathroom.
I couldn't get the wifi working, but maybe that was just my iPad, as my daughter's Mac had no problems.
Breakfast was pretty basic but OK, certainly not a complaint given the great value of the lodging.
Don't fuss about the location, just drive down Park St, deviate into Sloat, then follow the coast road into the town and sights like Fishermans Wharf and Cannery Row.
Remember to visit the beaches at Pacific Grove to check out the seals and sea otters - enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Mark:

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our hotel to be a great find. We do recognize that we are a bit off the beaten path and not on one of those motel strips. We feel that this is actually one of our best advantages. We are centrally located, right off of the Downtown Monterey exit in a quiet residential area with easy access to all of Monterey's attractions.

We certainly appreciate your kind words and hope you do spread the word. Come back and visit us again some time. Book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save!

Regards,

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I bought a groupon for this place and I'm so glad that I did. One of the best groupons I've ever purchased. And it was all because of the excellent service that my boyfriend and I received at this place.
The rooms were absolutely perfect for us. They were very clean and very well maintained. Perfect place to sleep after a long day of sight seeing. The location was great too. Just a few short minutes from fisherman's wharf and cannery row.
This is the perfect place to stay in Monterey. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the owners provide excellent customer service, and the price was right! We'll definitely be coming back here.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Raquel:

Thank you for your PERFECT review. We've been on a roll with these stellar reviews so thank you so much for your glowing words.

We'd love to host you again. Please book directly at montereystagecoachlodge and find our lowest rates. Enter promo code tripadvisor and save an additional $5 per night.

Best Regards,
Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having stayed in several hotels during a 4 week driving holiday, we were so impressed with the Stage Coach Inn when we checked that we immediately booked a second night so we could spend time the next day exploring the Monterey area. The owners were more than cordial and helpful, our room was spacious and spotless and seemed to have been recently updated. The morning breakfast was fine - pastries, juice, coffee and cereal. The laundry room facility was also spotless - a signal to me about the housekeeping standards of a motel.

We would give this a huge thumbs up to couples and families - too cool for a dip in the pool when we visited (late March), but it looked well kept.

Room Tip: Note - motel did not have a fitness center or restaurant and these were therefore not rated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Susan:

Thank you for your PERFECT review. We are gushing in pride and very flattered by your kind words. We love it when we hear from guests like you because it confirms that the labor of love we are putting into The Stage Coach Lodge is coming to fruition.

We certainly hope that you come spend some more time with us and continue to spread the word. Please book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and punch in the promo code tripadvisor to redeem a $5 per night discount.

Thank You,

Sue & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stage Coach Lodge is budget friendly, clean, quiet, and includes free breakfast. Owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Appears to be newly remodeled with new granite counter top, granite bath walls and floor. Highly recommended for couples and/or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your honest review. We are really working hard to position our hotel as the quaint and charming budget boutique lodge centrally located in Monterey. It makes us super happy to see that our guests like you affirm our mission.

We hope you come and visit us again. Type in tripadvisor in our Promo Code section at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save a few extra pings.

We hope to see you again,

Jay & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge

Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey
Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Vantage Hospitality, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.