We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Promo Code
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff. The management Lexi and Jay are very friendly and helpful with info. And accommodating your needs.. The rooms are very clean and well kept. The location is close to everything but also in a nice quiet area. There are only two hotels in this area so you don't feel as if you are in a hotel ally with street people walking about. This is actually in a quit neighborhood in monterey walking distance to the navel post grad. School, MPC, the beach and downtown monterey and the wharf.

I highly recommend this hotel and stay here often.

Mike D

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    169
    53
    13
    10
See reviews for
90
210
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed previously in Monterey Family with 2 small children in another hotel which was not bad. The second stay and third stay were in the Coach Lodge and will book again if traveling via Monterey. The value for money was excellent, the staff was really interested in getting you the best stay; had an excellent conversation during breakfast with the person at the counter.

Room Tip: A queen room for a couple with 2 children is more than enough. It has fridge and microwave which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Can't believe this place isn't $20-30 more per night. Was skeptical, but checked out tripadvisor and checked in. Exactly was I needed. Clean room, friendly service, right near Route 1 and Carmel. The fan on the heater made a bit of noise, but it was a consistent hum and was able to sleep through it. The heating/cooling is a all-in-one unit.

They have a small free breakfast, but I HIGHLY recommend the place in the strip mall across the street, The Breakfast Club. Check out their reviews on Yelp.

There's also a Whole Foods nearby to stock up on snacks, avocados, etc for a Route 1 road trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I were traveling down the coast and wanted to spend a couple of days in Monterey. We were very lucky in selecting America's Best Value Stage Coach Lodge. The initial appearance is that of an early American motel, clean and unassuming. It was located away from the main road and therefore very quiet. Check in was very fast and efficient. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. She answered questions concerning the area and offered suggestions for area attractions and restaurants which might be of interest to us. She also informed us that reduced price two day tickets to the Aquarium were available for purchase at the motel. Our room was clean and comfortable. While small, the bath room was clean and functional with plenty of hot water. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot with coffee, small wall safe, and a flat screen television. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee/tea, some cereals, pastries, and fresh fruit. Adequate to get your day started. There is a washer and dryer available for guests to use on site. Our stay was pleasant and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Retired Traveler:

Thanks for your PERFECT SCORE! Wow! We're so super grateful for your review. It truly brings a smile to all of our staff knowing that we exceeded your expectations. All we can say is that we are trying to make The Stage Coach an awesome place to stay in Monterey. Please do spread the news about our little budget boutique motor lodge.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Definitely book directly on our website at montereystagecoachlodge.com and leave a note in your booking that you are returning to visit and we'll try and do something special for you.

Best Wishes,

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a quick weekend trip with the kids (2 & 4) to Monterey from the bay area. Our expectations weren't too high given that this is a low cost motel but after seeing strong positive ratings on TripAdvisor, we thought we'd roll the dice - for what it is, this place is great. Rooms are clean, well kept, and everything works. Plenty of towels, ample hot water, beds were confortable, decent flat screen TV. The room wasn't huge, but enough room for a small family, and there's a small fridge and microwave for quick snacks. The property is in a relatively quite area, not far from Dennis-the-Menace park, the beach, and the wharf. Cannery Row is a short drive away. Breakfast was simple - sugary cereals, rolls, toast, juice, coffee - but adequate for small kids. There is a small, clean pool, but its not heated, so unless you're looking for a polar plunge, it's probably not relevant in the colder months. The owners are nice, helpful people. Overall, an A+ - we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your A+ grade! We're thrilled to receive such high marks! We've just completed a pretty extensive remodel and are striving to crack that top 10 for places to stay in Monterey. Reviews such as yours certainly help us on our mission to highlight and draw attention to our awesome little budget boutique lodge.

We certainly hope to host you again in the near future. Definitely book directly on our website at montereystagecoachlodge.com and leave a note in your booking that you are returning to visit and we'll try and do something special for you. Hope to see you again.

Regards,

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We took a very needed mini vacation to Monterey (our favorite place to "escape" to.) a We have stayed at other places in the past, ranging from same priced to much MUCH higher, and by far our best experiences have been here at the stage coach lodge! Each time we visit its been pleasant, and they have upgraded each time we are there. Centrally located for our needs, Clean comfortable rooms, and a most pleasant and accomodating staff (owners) are awesome! we will always come back to here! and the Continental Breakfast was awesome! lots of choices just Perfect.

Room Tip: Upstairs on an end!!! best of all, upgrades are awesome and affordable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Andrea:

We just wanted to take the time to thank you for staying with us and leaving us such a gleaming review. Your feedback is invaluable because it gives our future guests insight into our property and innkeeping. We really strive to make for an excellent place to stay in Monterey, and your review helps validate that we are onto something.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Definitely book directly on our website at montereystagecoachlodge.com and leave a note in your booking that you are returning to visit and we'll try and do something special for you. Hope to see you again.

Regards,

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay. It is close to town and activities. It is quiet. The price is fantastic! The rooms are clean and newly remodeled. The breakfast is wonderful. The caretakers are super nice and very accommodating. We will go back again for sure.

Room Tip: They are all good. We get the King size and it's always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge

Address: 1111 Tenth Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#11 Family Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Hotel Monterey
Americas Best Value Inns Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.